PDA

View Full Version : Army lists?

Snotteef
04-01-2007, 01:06
I am thinking of starting LotR. I thought I would check out some sample army lists here in the forum, but people don't seem to post them. I understand that it is a heavily themed game, so there will be less of the "rate my list" stuff here, but I don't see anything.

I thought it might help me get a feel for what people like to field, what people consider balanced and what points level people usually play at.

So what gives? Why no army lists?

I am a veteran of Fantasy and 40k, but I'm looking for something a little less WAAC and LotR seems to fit the bill. I seem to have meandered a bit here, but if people could contribute an informal discussion about some of the questions I've raised, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!

Catferret
04-01-2007, 02:26
There are a lot of options to be honest. You can go for an emphasis on Heroes, troops, cavalry or have a mixture depending on playing style.

Do you have any ideas for which race you would like to play. I'm sure at least one of the forum members would be able to advise you.

Regarding points sizes, I found a good starting size was 250 pts and then expand up to 500 for a decent sized game that will last a couple of hours. Or even go up to 1000 pts if you want to play really big games!

erion
04-01-2007, 15:38
We're Starting with 250 points around here as well. It allows you to have a hero or two, some cavalary and some foot troops for most armies, so you can learn how each of them work.

Neldoreth
04-01-2007, 15:50
I have hundreds of lists... The list I am currently working on is a 500 point tournament list with the following characters and troops:

Celeborn in heavy armour with a shield and elven blade
Haldir with a bow and armour (why is wood elf armour not heavy if LA armour is?)
Elven Captain with armour and an elven blade
12 Wood elves with armour and elven blades
8 Wood elves with armour and elven bows