PDA

View Full Version : orc bows

Fredmans
05-01-2007, 17:53
Hello everyone. I am planning to start collecting a Dol Guldur army. I have played WHFB and WH40K before, but I am new to LotR. My question is if orcs and bows go well together at all. Hitting and wounding on 5+ seems to me to be good only in masses, and the rules suggest to me that I'll need every orc in close combat to outnumber my potential foes. What does other orc players think about equipment?

/Fredmans

Catferret
05-01-2007, 17:56
A few archers may be handy for shooting at guys too far away to charge but I'd certainly agree with sending the majority of your folk into combat. You really want to play on your outnumbering the enemy.

erion
05-01-2007, 17:58
Archery is always good for the time between when the game starts and you're actually able to get into combat where the orcs can win by weight of numbers.

Don't go crazy on it, and pick your targets carefully. An orc-heavy army that relies on archery to win is quite literally fighting a losing battle, but putting those arrows into the right models at the right time can turn the tide.

Dr Death
05-01-2007, 19:05
Yes, bows are very much a 'support weapon' with orcs rather than with say elves which can win a game on the power of their archery. It is worth equipping a few orcs with bows (probably a far lesser percentage of your force than you are legally allowed). I would reccommend about 10- use them to pick off stragglers or weakened heroes who may attempt to flee away from the battle under the protection of their troops (the famous example of Isildur at the gladden fields is a good example of their use). They are however a luxury next to getting as many fighty orcs in against your foe as possible.

Dr Death

Catferret
05-01-2007, 19:13