PDA

View Full Version : Beastmen (or Hordes of Chaos)

Champion of Biel-Tan
06-01-2007, 19:13
hello all

I am a complete newbie to Fantasy. I read the rules and played some games with borrowed models with Tomb Kings. And now I want to start an army of my own. The army I liked the most was Beastmen. Before I start buying and collecting them I wanted some information on what they can do on the battlefield and not so much tactics but how they play as an army.

thanks in advance

Makaber
06-01-2007, 19:30
First of all, it's a pretty good starting point to Warhammer since half your units don't need to concern themselves with charge archs and line of sight.

The typical army is founded on three pillars: Beastherds, chariots, and monsters. It's a very offensive army: Extremely few units in its arsenal can hope to hold against a solid charge, and the army relies on combined charges and sheer force to win its combats. This is unlike most other armies, where you typically want to invest heavily in the so called "static combat resolution", that is, ranks, banners, numbers, and the like. Beastmen win by killing stuff.

It's main strength is superb mobility. Its basic troops have a move of 5", where the norm is 4". The hitty elements, like minotaurs and chariots, have 6"-7". The beastherds, which you will probably have a few of, are skirmishers and can run circles around ranked troops, and are quite capable troops on their own as well.

All in all, beastmen are a very fun army, both to play with and to play against. For further advice by overly enthusiastic beastmen players, check out The Herdstone (http://s2.invisionfree.com/herdstone).

kyussinchains
07-01-2007, 14:30