PDA

View Full Version : DE against large armies

DarkLord Of Naggaroth
08-01-2007, 18:37
If you're against a highly populated army like skaven or orcs, then do people find that it is best to split your spearmen and other units too up into 2x5 units to try and match the enemies number of units, or should you keep with large and powerful units.
I just think that if that is the case then your opponent could easily overpower you no tactics needed.

Makarion
08-01-2007, 19:17
Caveat: I have no experience playing dark elves, but...

I would guess it's best to deny your opponent a flank, anchor it with a corner/side of the map, use significant blocks to hold the center (20+-man units), and use mobile troops on your open flank, supported by artillery/magic, and preferably archers of some sort (but I don't think dark elves have much that's very good in that department other than repeater bolt throwers).
This way, you can hopefully avoid almost automatically losing due to static CR as well as being ground between more numerous blocks.

Your opponent will have to mass his numbers into the more limited front of your army or risk being picked off by long range combat and (hopefully) AoE magic (if DE have access to that). Some marchblockers are likely a good idea. I believe DE have light cavalry with repeater crossbows - those might serve you real well, if they are not too expensive.

Try and use some terrain that limits passage through the center of the table, such as a river with fords, swamps, etc. - anything to break up the battle lines of your enemy and force him to move his blocks behind one another instead of side-by-side.

Hope that helps!

DarkLord Of Naggaroth
08-01-2007, 19:22
thanks a lot
any other views?

Bull
08-01-2007, 23:11