PDA

View Full Version : [Tomb Kings] 1,000 starter army?

Makarion
10-01-2007, 18:17
It seems that my partner is getting interested in WHFB as well :). After reading some background material he chose Tomb Kings as his likely entrypoint. Being not very familiar with them (or undead in general) I would like a real quick overview from the illuminati here on how they play out, if possible?

Anyway, our current guess at a starter army (using Army Builder, we haven't had the chance yet to pick up the army book):

Tomb Prince w/ Enchanted Shield, Brooch of the Great Desert
19 Tomb Guard w/ musician, standard

Liche Priest w/ Dispel Scroll
19 skeletal warriors w/ light armour & shields, musician, standard

12 skeletal warriors w/ bows

3 Ushabti

That's exactly 1,000 points.

Note: my partner was particularly fond of the Ushabti idea, so those are in. The rest is up for discussion :).

Von Wibble
10-01-2007, 18:36
I have very little experience below 2500 with tomb kings, but I know enough to know they really struggle in small games.

In your army I think the tomb guard are too expensive. That unit is over 250pts.

I would go for 2 cheaper units instead. Tomb scorpions are always good (especially at 85pts), chariots are useful (3 with banner = 140), and you can't go wrong with more skeletons. Final option would be a skull chukka.

Ushabti are fairly slow so I'd go defensive. I would swap the tomb guard out, and get a unit of 19 skeleton bowmen, plus a skull chukka. You then have a strong shooting phase, and the ushabti plus tomb prince can ensure that you have counter attacking ability. If you are facing a shooty army like empire or dwarfs, a tomb scorpion would be better than a skull chukka as it can take out a cannon or 2.

Captain Lysander360
10-01-2007, 18:47