PDA

View Full Version : 500 point Slaaneshi Border Patrol help

Caligula
24-01-2007, 22:00
Greetings all. I'm very new to the world of Warhammer Fantasy, and am looking to start an army. My army of choice is Chaos, specifically a Slaanesh-themed army. My plan is to start small, learning through experience and collecting in managable, yet playable portions.

So, first off, I'm looking to start with a 500 point Slaaneshi border patrol. There, that's the easy part. The hard part for me comes to figuring out what said 500 point force will consist of to be effective. I have access to both the Hordes of Chaos and Beasts of Chaos army books, so lack of information is not an issue. Lack of experience, however, is.

So what I'm asking for is a push in the right direction here. What units, unit sizes, type of Hero, etc. should a 500 point army contain to be effective. I'm certainly not wanting anyone to write my list for me, only for a few basic tips and suggestions on what I should be looking at.

Caligula
25-01-2007, 01:33
Okay then, well to get this going a little bit, I'll share what I'm considering at this point.

First of all, I need at least one Core unit of decent size. Chaos Warriors are typically way too expensive to fill this role adequately, so that leaves me with Marauders. I'm thinking a unit of about 19 or 20 with Hand Weapons, Shields, and full command.

Next, I need a bit of a hammer unit....Chaos Warriors or Chaos Knights would fill this role, but honestly I'm unsure of this considering the huge amount of points involved. At the 500 point level, a unit of Knights or Warriors is going to account for about half of all available points. Taking into account the small number of points I'm confined to at this point, maybe I should just leave the Warriors and Knights out for now? If so, what other unit could fill the role of hammer? Possibly a Chaos Chariot?