PDA

View Full Version : New Player Chaos list (2250)

Herod
30-01-2007, 04:56
Hi all,

I am new to Warhammer altogether. I am trying to build a list ahead of time, to help minimize the number of models I might buy but end up not using. Having never played before, I am fairly certain the list needs help, so I look forward to advice, and knowing if it is even legal. (!)

General - Exalted Demon, Mark of Nurgle, Soul hunger, Spell Breaker
Hero - Exalted Demon, Mark of Nurgle
10 - Chaos Furies
3 - Nurgling Swarm
19 - Plague Bearers
5 - Chosen Knights (Musician)
5 Minotaurs - Mark of Nurgle, Great Weapon, Light Armor

The list comes in at 2249, and I already have some Minotaurs, Knights and Plague Bearers.

I've got a feeling the unit count is way too low, and the magic defense is zilch - but having never played I'd like to hear from someone with experience.

Thanks in advance for any help,

H

Makarion
30-01-2007, 07:13
Your guess as to the list's weaknesses is about right, but it's fairly easy to solve, I think.

You could, for instance, exchange the swarms for 2 units of 5-6 hounds. They are very cheap in points and are quite good at shileding your units or running at archers. Of course they'll die, but they are close to free by Chaos standards, and it buys your foot sloggers the time they need to cross the battlefield.

I would further suggest exchanging one unit of minotaurs for a chaos sorceror, or whatever the name is of your hero level spellcaster. At 2,000+ points and with only 1 caster, you might as well keep him level 1 and give him 2 dispel scrolls, since your opponent will in all likelyhood be able to dispel anything a lone caster can conjure up.

With these two exchanges you might have some spare points, and I would suggest considering a unit of marauder horsemen, or a second unit of plaguebearers if that's allowed.
The horsemen are a great flanking unit, quite able to assist your knights and plague bearers, depending on where it's needed most.