PDA

View Full Version : Elite Infantry in your Horde Army

IronNerd
01-02-2007, 20:07
I keep fighting with myself over how exactly I want to finish out my O&G army. I personally see no point in shelling out for the elite guys (Black Orcs). I'm still quite new to Fantasy, and thus also new to O&G, so maybe there's something I'm missing. My main opponents are empire and dwarves, so I face some shooting. I find it hard to justify paying more than double for a BO than a normal one. Can someone help me discover how elite infantry work in an otherwise horde army?

sephiroth87
02-02-2007, 00:10
Well, for starters, Black Orcs used to be a LOT better in the previous edition. Both black orcs and black orc characters kept your whole army from running away, if I remember right.

Now that they have less to do with keeping your horde in place, you're left with deciding whether their fighting ability versus other orcs is enough reason to take them. Personally, I don't. I think most elite infantry is a waste of points and I only take them if I like how they look.

In my orc army, my elite infantry IS bog-standard orcs with choppas. I think they're already pretty good and they don't need to be black orcs to do the job.

If you wanted to take the black orcs, you probably can find a spot for them in the middle of the line. They're reliable and they kill stuff, which their strong point.

IronNerd
02-02-2007, 01:52
I guess I didn't have my heart set on taking any. I'm just curious as to how people make it work. Do most of you not play against non-shooty armies? I'm also beginning to dislike my chariots as they always die to cannons. Anywho, I do like the general idea of Black Orcs, just probably won't use any. What's the consensus elsewhere?

sulla
02-02-2007, 03:48