PDA

View Full Version : Techmarines: worthwhile or wasteful?

Starchild
04-02-2007, 21:47
Right, I've been playing 40k since 1987. I've always liked Techmarines, and now that they will count as Elites without taking up a FOC slot in the new DA Codex, I'm thinking of using one (or two) in my DA army.

Who here on Warseer regularly uses a Techmarine? I can see some potential with 4 servitors and full servo harness; the servitors can provide a lot of anti-personnel fire while the Techmarine can be a beast in assaults. What perplexes me is that I never see anyone use them. If nothing else, the model is great, and a unit that can repair vehicles is quite useful.

So what's the deal: are they worth using or not? :skull:

ArtificerArmour
04-02-2007, 21:53
I'm making a ravenwing army and although the uses of a technmarine on a bike is awesome for tank fixing, I won't actually have any tanks...so, pointless.

It's up to how much you rely on tanks.

hivefleetcarrion
04-02-2007, 21:53
i think they are great, but thats possibly because i just love the model

with the full kit i think they rock, they can take down heavy armor, toast hoards with the flamer, and take on big nastiest with their fist attacks. only prob i can see with them is if you take the servitors, then they lose their ic status and hits can be distributed onto them

Starchild
04-02-2007, 22:06
with the full kit i think they rock, they can take down heavy armor, toast hoards with the flamer, and take on big nastiest with their fist attacks. only prob i can see with them is if you take the servitors, then they lose their ic status and hits can be distributed onto themDo you use a Techmarine regularly? Sounds like the Techmarine epitomizes Space Marine versatility. As far as losing independent character status, that's not such a big deal since it's a mixed armour unit; i.e., each servitor takes a wound before the Techmarine does.