PDA

View Full Version : READ THIS - Frequently Asked Questions



anarchistica
20-07-2005, 01:11
Introduction

This thread will help you find the answer to your question yourself, which takes little effort. Below are links to various sources. Remember that unless the clarification or errata is published in an official Games Workshop publication and it islabelled as being official and not as being a "trial" rule, it is not official. The latest publication always supercedes previous publications. In case of Ravening Hordes, all lists except for the Chaos Dwarfs list have been superceded by varies Warhammer Armies books and newer publications in Warhammer Chronicles.

Official online sources Official Errata (http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?categoryId=1000018&pIndex=1&aId=3000006&start=2) - Full list of 7th editon FAQ and Errata Chaos Dwarfs army list (http://www.blacklotusarts.com/capitalcitycarnage/chaos-dwarfs.pdf) - The list from Ravening Hordes
Dogs of War/Regiments of Renown - I haven't been able to track this document down unfortunately.
Mengil Manhide's Manflayers - Same for this one
Cursed Company (http://wizbangs.parks.officelive.com/Documents/Dow-cursed-company.pdf) - Right click and save. It's a low resolution unfortunately.
Unofficial online sources Zombie Pirates of the Vampire Coast FAQ Sneak peek (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4168) - A preview of the Zombie Pirates of the Vampire Coast FAQ
Direwolf FAQ Compilation (http://glwl.org/dwfaq.html) - The best unofficial source for rules clarifications and errata
Base Size and Unit Strength chart (http://www.angelfire.com/ma2/machiara/downloads/card-playsheet-v2.pdf) - Very useful reference
Special Characters - These seem to be gone as well

Posting in this thread

In this thread you should not post any questions. You can post new links to relevant sources. If a questions has been asked more than twice on the forum, it can be posted here along with the correct answer and reference. Any off topic post will be deleted.

Thanks for reading this and happy gaming.

kruzkal
15-03-2007, 01:56
Revised Magic Lores and Special Characters links get 404.

DeathlessDraich
21-05-2007, 10:13
Fantasy Rules quiz:

http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=84048

T10
02-06-2007, 07:42
For rules comments regarding the Vampire Counts:

Commentaries on the Undead (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=86017)

Read and learn the ways of the Living Dead.


-T10

Edit: The referred thread is obsolete.

GodHead
23-09-2007, 19:58
How to resolve "always hit on X", modifiers and "only hit on Y":

http://warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=46066

Attacker Ability...............Defender Ability...................Result

Auto Hit........................Only on 6(or 5 etc)............ AutoHit
Auto Hits.......................1st hit discounted.............Both apply
Auto Hit....................... -1 modifier........................Auto hit
+1 to Hit.......................Only on 6(etc)...................Hit on 5+
+1 to Hit....................... -1 modifier......................both apply
Hit on 3+ (or 2+ etc)........Only on 6(etc).................Dice Roll
Hit on 3+ (or 2+ etc)........-1 modifier.............Dice Roll unless *
Hit on 6......................... -1 modifier.................... Dice Roll
Autowound..................... 1st wound discounted......Both apply

*Banner of the Barrows

TK Destroyer of Eternities: 2 autohits does No rolls.
HOC Beguiling Gem: Hits automatically. No rolls mentioned.
O&G Kickin Boots: 1 autohit

+1 to Hit: HE Darting Steel, Flaming Sword, Rune of Snorri
-1 to Hit: O&G Effigy of Mork
discount 1st Hit: O&G Lucky Shield

Hit on 3+ : VC Banner of Barrows
Hit on 2+ : Empire Sword of Righteous Steel
Hit on 6 : Failed fear test

-1 to being hit: Cloud of Flies, VC Cursed book
(Be hit on) Only on 6: Entrenchment *or Annoyance of Netlings*

Jack of Blades
14-03-2008, 14:08
Could someone edit that ''The rule which disallowed you from casting while wearing Armour is GONE!'' into the OP?...

selone
05-12-2008, 22:35
None of the links to official online sources appear to work anymore.

I did find however the rules for a lot of the older lists on the oz website-

Chaos dwarfs
http://oz.games-workshop.com/games/warhammer/assets/Chaos_Dwarfs.pdf

The kislevian troops
http://oz.games-workshop.com/games/warhammer/kislev/assets/KislevAlliesArmyList.pdf

Dogs of war
http://oz.games-workshop.com/games/warhammer/dogsofwar/gaming/armylist/assets/regimentsofrenownPart1.pdf
http://oz.games-workshop.com/games/warhammer/dogsofwar/gaming/armylist/assets/regimentsofrenownPart2.pdf

Arnizipal
27-06-2009, 22:17
You're not supposed to ask question in this thread. That's what the forum itself is for


I made revised list with relevant links for 7th editon below. A mod (or Arachistica) can move it into the first post if he wishes:

Official online sources Official Errata (http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?categoryId=1000018&pIndex=1&aId=3000006&start=2) - Full list of 7th editon FAQ and Errata Chaos Dwarfs army list (http://www.blacklotusarts.com/capitalcitycarnage/chaos-dwarfs.pdf) - The list from Ravening Hordes
Dogs of War/Regiments of Renown - I haven't been able to track this document down unfortunately.
Mengil Manhide's Manflayers - Same for this one
Cursed Company (http://wizbangs.parks.officelive.com/Documents/Dow-cursed-company.pdf) - Right click and save. It's a low resolution unfortunately.
Unofficial online sources Zombie Pirates of the Vampire Coast FAQ Sneak peek (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4168) - A preview of the Zombie Pirates of the Vampire Coast FAQ
Direwolf FAQ Compilation (http://glwl.org/dwfaq.html) - The best unofficial source for rules clarifications and errata
Base Size and Unit Strength chart (http://www.angelfire.com/ma2/machiara/downloads/card-playsheet-v2.pdf) - Very useful reference
Special Characters - These seem to be gone as well

Some pdfs (like those of the Regiments of Renown and Dogs of War) can be found on the web as direct scans of White Dwarf, but I don't think that's legal so I left those links out.

Necromancy Black
27-06-2009, 23:01
I've used this a few times to help people get there head around psychology and some leadership issues, so I'll post it here for all to read:



Characteristic tests
___________|_________
| |
| |
Leadership* others
______|_______
| | |
| | |
Break* Rally* Psychology*
__________|____________
| | | |
| | | |
Fear* Terror* Stupidity* ~Panic*


Immune to Psychology affects only the parts above that are highlighted in red.

* indicates Cold Blooded may be used.

~ is for Will of Chaos.

Agnar the Howler
21-04-2010, 09:19
Q: Does the Warriors of Chaos weapon 'Rending Sword' allow you to re-roll all wounds including those from Spells, the Bloodskull Pendant, etc.?

A: No. Despite the wording of the rule, its intent was clearly to only allow re-rolls on wounds made by the Rending Sword itself. GW just has a knack for terrible and ambiguous wording.

AMWOOD co
16-05-2010, 21:38
Q: If I can re-roll misses and must re-roll successful hits, how does that work? Example: A model with hatred attacking the Armour of Damnation.

A: You roll the first set of to-hit rolls and then re-roll all of them. You and your opponent may agree to skip the first roll, but you are doing a re-roll (see box on page 1, you may not re-roll a re-roll). Note that any special effects, such as poison, count only from the re-roll.

T10
18-05-2010, 13:47
Q: If I can re-roll misses and must re-roll successful hits, how does that work? Example: A model with hatred attacking the Armour of Damnation.


A. You follow the procedure indicated on p. 1 of the rule book.

Make your to hit-rolls and determine your hits and misses.


Hatred allows you to re-roll all misses, so you pick up the initial misses and roll them again to determine your hits and misses. This second roll is final. You do not re-roll these again.
The Armour of Damnation forces you to re-roll all hits, so you pick up the initial hits and roll them again to determine your hits and misses. This second roll is final. You do not re-roll these again.



An astute reader will notice that this essentially involves rolling all the dice once, then picking them up and rolling them again, effectively negating the initial roll.

If there are any special effects associated with the dice rolled (e.g. a retributive strike if the attacker rolls a 1), remember that it is the second roll that counts.

-T10

w1ck
21-10-2010, 21:45
Can a character that have joined a chaos troll unit benefit from the gifts given by mutant regeneration

Arnizipal
22-10-2010, 07:46
Most of this is not relevant anymore for Warhammer 8th edition, so I've unstuck the thread.

Arnizipal,

++ The Warseer Moderation Team ++