PDA

View Full Version : High Elf Tactica

Lord_Sanguinius
20-07-2005, 16:46
Ok i searched about 3 pages and could'nt find a high elf tactica thread, or one being revived. Well they're one of the 2 alternate armies i've decided to play next to my chaos so i have no idea how they're suppose to work. From what i hear they can be a swift assaulting force or a defensive force. I was thinking of building an army in between.

post away, i'm not very good at finding a topic to discuss first.

NarCiS
20-07-2005, 17:40
Topic 1 : Lord at 2000 points : Archmage/Prince/no lord
-explain which and why :D

I use an archmage for magic defense and some offense, also teamed with commanders i will always have a Ld9 general

Exavier
20-07-2005, 17:50
I use a lord, because a combat punch is always appreciated. If we're playing Archaon or something that lets me use enough points for two lord choices, then I use an Archmage as well. However, depends on the army faced for me, i.e. chaos you want more fire support. Definitely.

Lord Anathir
20-07-2005, 17:57
I am currently writing a high elven tactica....Its a MASSIVE undertaking.....its almost done......Its quite long. I dont even know how to post it.....
It should be done in about a week.

g0ddy
20-07-2005, 18:08
Highelves Control the magic phase, and you dont need a lot of mages to do it. They can HIGHLY defensive or offensive (or both) in the magic phase w/ minimal points/character slots used.

They make the widest use of magic items of any army in WHFB. They typically receive a 20% discount on the cost of their magic items (and have lots of them) - in some cases more (something that would cost another army 50 pts is now 40 pts and 15 would be 10 pts). Additionally the unit champions of most of their specialized units can take 25 pts of magic items - which comes in handy below.

A few examples :

a (talisman or enchanted item - its been a while) that gives a 2+ ward save versus magic to the bearer and his entire unit. (<50 pts)