PDA

View Full Version : Rules questions about BFG



Jerkface
17-02-2007, 07:13
As I played my first real game(just a cruiser clash 1v1) I have some questions about the system.

1. If you reload ordinance, can you fire/deploy that ord. that turn??
2. Does a crippled ship reduce its ord. values by half as well?

Thats it for now, but I'm sure I will come up with some more questions the more I play!

Chimera
17-02-2007, 08:36
1. Yep
2. Yep

:)

USABOB
17-02-2007, 08:38
Good to hear that you played your first real BFG game. I hope there will be many more :).

As for the answers to your questions.
1) Yes
2) Yes

Edit: Chimera beat me to it **Shakes Fist** :).

Jerkface
19-02-2007, 06:21
ANother question!

1. Due to having to move, unless you burn retros of course, what happens if you will move into B2B with another ship?

You can move through another ship if you have more available movement right? If you want to be in base to base can you stop your movement in base to base or do you have to move your minimum past the enemy?

2. I'm gonna look this one up after posting but what can you reroll and how many times? Is it any roll(for example, rolling for ord. to move through blasts), once a game? Or once a turn? Is it limited to command checks and leadership checks?

ReDavide
19-02-2007, 10:29
1. Due to having to move, unless you burn retros of course, what happens if you will move into B2B with another ship?

You can move through another ship if you have more available movement right? If you want to be in base to base can you stop your movement in base to base or do you have to move your minimum past the enemy?There's nothing keeping you from moving through the space occupied by another ship. As long as you've already moved your minimum distance for that turn, you can even stop in base-to-base contact.

If for some reason your compulsory movement forces you to move on top of and then stop on another ship's base, I'd just have the ship either stop just short or just past the intervening ship's base, whichever requires the least fudging.


2. I'm gonna look this one up after posting but what can you reroll and how many times? Is it any roll(for example, rolling for ord. to move through blasts), once a game? Or once a turn? Is it limited to command checks and leadership checks?Only command and leadership tests. (pg. 104, grey box) You start the game with as many rerolls as your list has given you (usually from your commanding officer). That's the number of tests you can reroll over the course of the game. There's no limit to how many of them you use in a turn, but you can only attempt one reroll per test - if the reroll fails, you have to stick with the failure.

Jerkface
19-02-2007, 10:59
More questions :)

1. Nova Cannons do not ignore shields, right? There is nothing mentioned in the rules about shields so I am assuming it will impact as normal.

2. Does ending your movement in contact with blast markers reduce your shields?

orangesm
19-02-2007, 14:09
1. Yes it does not ignore shields.

2. Yes it does, blast markers are debris in space that your shields are now keeping form impacting your ship (asteroids have a similar effect).

Jerkface
21-02-2007, 12:23
Thanks for all the replies so far, another question:

1. I have read various bits about splitting lance fire. Can I fire lance batteries at different targets? Like if I have a strength 2 lance can I split that into 1 strength against target A, and the other against B?

Slekith
21-02-2007, 13:06
Thanks for all the replies so far, another question:

1. I have read various bits about splitting lance fire. Can I fire lance batteries at different targets? Like if I have a strength 2 lance can I split that into 1 strength against target A, and the other against B?

Indeed, think though that you have to pass a leadership test to fire the second target as IS IT NOT the cosest target. If you fail then you have to fire both lances to the cosest one.

MrBigMr
21-02-2007, 19:09
*gunshot*
This is a hijack! Nobody move!

1. About disengaging, is there any penalty for it? Basicly, lets say someone strikes fast, takes out few ships and disengages out of the table, does his opponent get anything for it? I haven't found anything in the rules about it, apart from that the ships can't return.

2. Upgrades, such as crew and special characters. Do they count towards the ship point cost? So if a ship is crippled and has an admiral, do you get half the points from him? Of are they counted only when the ship is destroyed.

ReDavide
21-02-2007, 21:06
1. About disengaging, is there any penalty for it? Basicly, lets say someone strikes fast, takes out few ships and disengages out of the table, does his opponent get anything for it? I haven't found anything in the rules about it, apart from that the ships can't return.

Page 66 under Victory Points - disengaging an un-crippled ship gives the enemy a small number of victory points.

I suppose if you hit really hard with nova cannon on the first round or two, you may still win after disengaging, but a lot of scenarios have additional victory conditions that you can't complete if your fleet has fled the table.

As for the upgrade characters, I've always just counted them as part of their host vessel's point cost, but the rules don't seem to ever clearly say exactly what to do with them.

MrBigMr
21-02-2007, 21:58
Page 66 under Victory Points - disengaging an un-crippled ship gives the enemy a small number of victory points.
Huh, should have known. I've downloaded the rules from the Specialist Games site and printed them, but only up to pg. 48. Have to download the rest. Me and my pal have been talking about starting to use scenarios, as normal battles start to bore us (or at least him, as I finaly beat him).


As for the upgrade characters, I've always just counted them as part of their host vessel's point cost, but the rules don't seem to ever clearly say exactly what to do with them.
Yeah, that's what we thought too.

Jerkface
23-02-2007, 10:49
1. What the hell is a tractor field? Its mentioned in the FAQ for ships that use large base(they get them for free) but I see no mention anywhere of what it actually does :(

ReDavide
23-02-2007, 17:03
1. What the hell is a tractor field? Its mentioned in the FAQ for ships that use large base(they get them for free) but I see no mention anywhere of what it actually does :(

A tractor field draws in nearby objects towards the ship. This can be bad if the objects are torpedoes, and good if the object is a ship you want to board.

Rules-wise, they are represented by... having a large base. ;)

In other words, they are just a fluff justification for giving your ship a larger base than it would normally have.

Jerkface
24-02-2007, 03:08
Oh, thats stupid!

1. If I am going to do a boarding action, and I move my ship in basecontact with another ship, and then to get a modifier I shoot at the enemy ship with a different ship, does the blast marker that is created affect my ship that is in base contact?

Essentially what I'm asking is, do both players get the +1 benefit for blast markers on enemy ship?

MrBigMr
24-02-2007, 09:39
Essentially what I'm asking is, do both players get the +1 benefit for blast markers on enemy ship?
Blast markers affect the ship they're in contact with. I'd shoot the enemy ship on the other side, so the blast marker would be away from your ship. But I usualy don't need it, as I get enough benefits from being Chaos and having Chaos Space Marine crew. I've never lost a Boarding action as of yet.

horizon
26-02-2007, 12:40
Not true according to new FAQ: Blastmarkers count as being all around.

MrBigMr
26-02-2007, 13:00
Not true according to new FAQ: Blastmarkers count as being all around.
Nnnoooooo!!!

horizon
26-02-2007, 13:03
Yeah...

But I think it is even worse the attacker is allowed to place to BM in a way it can take down the shield of another vessel in base-to-base contact.

Jerkface
27-02-2007, 05:48
1. Ork heavy gunz cause 2 hits for each hit. Does a hit in this case just mean a roll of the dice, or an actual "hit" hit that reduces hp? I'm assuming that vs a standard 2 shield cruiser if you rolled and got 2 hits, the first hit would strip the shields and the second hit would cause 2 HP points of damage.

ReDavide
27-02-2007, 07:31
Yep.

Any shot that passes its to-hit roll is considered a hit.

Jerkface
02-03-2007, 09:18
1. Does a single fighter take out an entire torp wave?

2. Can torps be fired anywhere in the front arc or only directly forward?

horizon
06-03-2007, 13:21
1. Yes
2. Anywhere in Front Arc.

knthrak
25-03-2007, 02:32
Ironically, this means that a canny Tau player will use his guided torps to effectively broadside torps at short range.

ReDavide
25-03-2007, 07:36
Ironically, this means that a canny Tau player will use his guided torps to effectively broadside torps at short range.

Yep, the things essentially have a 180-degree fire arc. They're just about impossible to avoid. :cries:

smileyface
31-03-2007, 00:50
1. About disengaging, is there any penalty for it? Basicly, lets say someone strikes fast, takes out few ships and disengages out of the table, does his opponent get anything for it? I haven't found anything in the rules about it, apart from that the ships can't return.

IIRC, your opponent gets 10% of the ships value if it disengages without being crippled. That means it's often well worth doing. For example, the Tau fleet steers like a cow, and has forward-firing weapons. That means the tau typically head slowly towards the enemy, fire continuously, and pass through the enemy fleet when they meet. Once through, they can't turn round fast enough to keep fighting, so they may as well disengage.