PDA

View Full Version : Charging from the year with 2 US3 units



Kerill
22-07-2005, 13:52
On these forums somewhere someone stated that charging two great eagle into the back of a unit will cancel their rank bonus. In the rulebook it says "a unit of US5" not units with a combines US of 5. To me this move would therefore be illegal since each Eagle is US3, can not be made into a unit (monsters are single models). Am I wrong?

McMullet
22-07-2005, 14:03
This one has come up before. I forget the exact reference to BRB/FAQ/errata, but you need a single unit with US 5 to cancel ranks and get the rear/flank bonus - two at US 3, 5 at US 1 and so on is not sufficient.

EvC
22-07-2005, 19:37
Yeah, I've seen it said before that you can have a dozen eagles slamming into someone's rear and it won't cancel them- but 5 gobbos and that's that!

g0ddy
22-07-2005, 19:39
hmmm, the requirements for getting the +1/+2 may not require it to be a single unit - however it seems likely to negate the ranks they would be.

also, i beleive it was me who used that great eagle description :D

- g0ddy

PelsBoble
22-07-2005, 20:39
I have heard the one with 10 chaos chariots vs 5 men at arms ;)

Bortus
23-07-2005, 07:10
I think you've got it right Kerill.

T10
23-07-2005, 12:18
hmmm, the requirements for getting the +1/+2 may not require it to be a single unit - however it seems likely to negate the ranks they would be.

also, i beleive it was me who used that great eagle description :D

- g0ddy

That is also on a per unit basis, not "sum of units' unit strength".

A unit of four skirmishers plus a character will grant a +1/+2 bonus for flank/rear, but if they were not joined as a unit they would get nothing.

-T10