PDA

View Full Version : New Necro FAQ!



Catferret
02-03-2007, 21:39
Just downloaded the latest FAQ from here (http://www.specialist-games.com/assets/NECFAQ07.pdf).

Lots of stuff has changed. I haven't read it thoroughly yet but will likely find something to complain about later... :D

Currently i'm just making everybody aware of the new FAQ.

EDIT: Oh dear God, they have given 2 different rulings on Rapid Fire and Plasma Pistols at different points in the one document...

Sustained fire now has to fully resolve each shot before doing the next. Including ammo rolls. That means you may run out of ammo before you get all your shots. Damn.

don_mondo
04-03-2007, 05:10
One change I noticed real quick was that you can now charge a model you cannot see. Cannot charge a HIDDEN model, but if they're just of of LOS around the corner, you can charge them even if they're out of your Initiative range.

Catferret
04-03-2007, 06:04
Flails have finally been fixed. They can't be used with a second weapon.

Outlaws can only loot 240 from an Archeotech Hoard... That has been clarified. No longer the 720 creds...

Tomothy
04-03-2007, 07:49
One change I noticed real quick was that you can now charge a model you cannot see. Cannot charge a HIDDEN model, but if they're just of of LOS around the corner, you can charge them even if they're out of your Initiative range.
There was nothing in the rules restricting charging people you couldn't see. Or charging past the closest target into another.

Outlaws can only loot 240 from an Archeotech Hoard... That has been clarified. No longer the 720 creds...
I always played that way, the other way seemed silly. You don't apply any of the other special rules when you loot a place.

ash_wednesday
05-03-2007, 17:00
One change I noticed real quick was that you can now charge a model you cannot see. Cannot charge a HIDDEN model, but if they're just of of LOS around the corner, you can charge them even if they're out of your Initiative range.

Maybe it's because you could hear them or smell them. Plus maybe they have some kind of tech that allows you to see through the walls. Meh.

Gen_eV
05-03-2007, 21:00
You know they're somewhere around there, so charge into I distance and then spot exactly where they are. That's the way I've always thought of it, at least...

don_mondo
08-03-2007, 13:15
There was nothing in the rules restricting charging people you couldn't see. Or charging past the closest target into another.

Actually, there was. From the 2005 FAQ:

Q: Can you charge a model that is hidden or out of line of sight?
A: You can only charge a fighter that you can see or have detected (aka inside your initiative range). This
can get tricky, but remember that you declare and move charging models at the very start of the movement
phase. In addition, per the charging rules on ORB page 11 you have to declare to your opponent who is
charging and who the target of the charge is. If your fighter cannot see the intended target then he would
not know to charge it. Keep in mind that as players we know there is a fighter there we want to charge but
the reality of the fighter is that he has no LOS to the threat.

Tomothy
09-03-2007, 05:02
I didn't play after 2003. There was nothing in the original rules preventing you.

don_mondo
09-03-2007, 13:22
I didn't play after 2003. There was nothing in the original rules preventing you.

OK, well, glad to see you're getting back into the best game GW produces.

Bresbomb
10-03-2007, 15:36
Thanks for the link Catferret.

Does any one have any idea when they might update the LRB with the various corrections from this FAQ? Or am i going to have to get out my tipp-ex and use my neatest handwriting.

Catferret
10-03-2007, 15:40
Specialist Games update something? That's just crazy talk... Like they support their customers or something... :rolleyes:

Palatine Katinka
10-03-2007, 20:49
Ignoring Catferret's jaded comments...

@ Bresbomb

The FAQ is still being work in progress. At the start they give an e-mail address for constructive comments/criticism to be sent to. The LRB shouldn't be updated until the FAQ is finalised.

I have told Catferret that he should form cohesive arguments summing up his problems with the document and e-mail them, since that is what they have asked for, but I doubt he will. ;)