PDA

View Full Version : Dwarfs - Fighty Character in Each Melee Unit?

Voodoo Boyz
05-03-2007, 13:04
This was something that was proposed to me by one of my opponents. I'm fairly new to fantasy coming from 40k and I'm wondering if I should be going with a character in each of my Melee units. I generally like to run 3 big blocks of infantry in my 2k lists and at a minimum I run 2 Characters - BSB Thane and a Runelord with a 1+ AS, but he's there mainly for Magic Defense not for fighting things.

What have you guys found out as being the best kind of setup for your armies?

Thanks

Atzcapotzalco
05-03-2007, 14:23
The heroes, and espescially a lord, can add a lot to the fighting power of your units, and in addition I find the leadership 10 of a lord general more of a difference than you might expect in passing psychology tests. Dwarf units tend to be light on the casualties, and even a basic thane a large boost to their offensive capabilities. The battle standard also being a very useful bonus, so I usually end up with at least a lord general plus a battle standard bearer in my fighting ranks. That said, with all the neat infantry and artillery pieces to include in my army, I often find myself falling short of my maximum character allowance, and rarely feel my army is heavily suffering for it. Dwarf troops having high toughness, armour, and leadership, they handle themselves fairly well even without a character. Yes, they are very useful, but I certainly wouldn't say that one in *every* unit was necessary, unless you're aiming for a very elite army

That Guy
05-03-2007, 15:56
What about anchoring your flanks with a Thane with an Oathstone each? Seems like nothing would do a better job of wiping that smirk off your flanking opponant's face when he realizes that you still get your rank bonus and he doesn't get a flanking bonus. Is this a viable option?

Voodoo Boyz
05-03-2007, 17:58