PDA

View Full Version : So Im Starting a Orc/Gobblin Army

BabyRico23
06-03-2007, 01:45
Hello ive been painting Warhammer miniatures for a 3-4 years now and have collected a couple of armies however I have never actually played a game. I dont even know the rules. I just bought Bfsp and plan on starting a orcs and gobblins army to not just paint but to play with as well and i had a few questions.

1.)fluff wise do night goblins mix with orcs? i ask because i love the night goblin miniatures but hate the regular gobbos so there will be none of them in my army.

2.)In a 2000 point army what would be a good ratio of orcs:gobblins?

3.)Are war machines necesary to put forth a competitive force in a greenskin army?

thanks in advanced

dominic_carrillo
06-03-2007, 01:57
1) yes
2) alot of both
3) no, but few armies can swing games with war machines alone

boardbox
06-03-2007, 02:39
Of course night goblins and orcs mix. How else are da boyz gonna get their squig feast?

As far as ratio goes, anything works. Just make sure you take a lot (especially gobbos cause they'll make your army's wound characteristic skyrocket and it's a lotta fun to watch elf players stare in disbelief as you field 80+ goblins and have orc regiments sitting off to the side of the table).

War machines...you don't really need them but I think the stone throwers are nice to have on hand if you feel like a change of pace.

edit: that blue link stuff is annoying

feeder
06-03-2007, 03:42
Yes, of course. Your Night Gobbo's live IN the mountain, your Orcs live ON the mountain. Every so often they get together and go wreck stuff.

My 2000 pt list usually has 3 NG units of 35-40, and 2 Orc units of 20-30. But I also take two or three minumum sized units of NG, just to psych my opponent out as to where I'm hiding my fanatics.