PDA

View Full Version : Tomb Kings vs Gnoblars

Ymir
06-03-2007, 04:51
Chances are, I'm facing a pure gnoblar army with my Tomb Kings on Friday. I'm pretty new to Warhammer and don't know much about other armies than my own, but I've fought High Elves to a draw at 1500 pts and won over gnoblars before in Border Patrol. The gnoblar player won all other games in that small tournament, and it was the first time I ever played, so I really got the feeling that Tomb Kings are excellent gnoblar-crushers. This time, I'm gonna face the gnoblar player again at 1500 pts, so I was looking for some tips.

The thing is, I can't really see how gnoblars could possibly beat me, what with every unit in my army causing Fear. Their leadership sucks, they are even worse fighters than my core skeletons, and they can't possibly stand up to my magic. The gnoblar player's large block of 'Lucky Gits', or whatever their name is, frustrated the players in our Border Patrol-tournament to no end, but I'm still pretty sure my tomb guard would slaughter them.

Or? Am I missing something? What are gnoblars good at, really? (My opponent is using some pure gnoblar army list published in White Dwarf or something like that, I don't really know). The gnoblar player are a much more experienced player than I am; but still - how does he intend to win? Last time we played, his slingers broke and fled after -one- round of being shot at by my archers.

I'm thinking of fielding two blocks of 20 skeletons, 10x2 units of archers, 19 tomb guards, and 3 ushabti. Character-wise, I've planned to focus on the Fear-causing aspect of my army; equipping one of the two liche priest with the Terror-causing Death Mask of Kharnut (and having her join the tomb guard), and the Tomb Prince with the Blade of Mourning, that doubles the negative modifiers for the enemies break tests as long as it has caused one wound that round.