PDA

View Full Version : Empire vrs Necra Vampires

mikeydanuke2003
11-03-2007, 04:59
Greetings all.
I have just spent some time reading some of the threads dealing with VC, and VC vrs Anti-magic Empire, and thought I would jump in and say hi, so to speak. I am fairly new to WHFB's, (4 or 5 months) and am in the process of painting an Empire army up. I have played a few battles and watched a few more, so I have a basic understanding of the game, and I have wargamed for a number of years, so I have a good feel for what infantry, cavalry, and Artillery are used for. I just don't have a lot of experience in Warhammer, and I don't have a good feel for what a lot of the other races/nations can do.

I have joined a campaign that is being run at one of the local hobby stores. I much prefer campaign battles to "my 2,000 pts vrs your 2,000 pts" type battles. In Campaign battles, the objective (as I see it) is to win the battle as cheaply as possible, because you may need every point value of unit somewhere down the line. Frequently battles are fought where a player outnumbers a "neutral nation" by two or more.

Next week I expect to invade a Necra Vampire kingdom that I border. I will fight a battle where I outnumber a Necra army by some 4250 pts to 2,000. I am currently going through my army lists to decide what to being, but my real question, after reading some of the other threads, is what kind of Characters to bring?

I am allowed 3 Lords and 5 heroes, I was thinking of:
Grandmaster Templar, Wizard Lord (4th lvl), Arch Lector, Capt of the Empire with Imperial Banner, Master Engineer, 2 Lvl 2 Wizards, and a Warrior Priest. The 2 lvl 2 wizards with be Scroll caddies. The priests will go to my main strike units, 2 units of Knights or a unit of Greatswordsmen

I also plan to have lots of Artillery...ideally I will win the battle and not lose any troops....no need to go into those rare occurrances where I have lost battles I have outnumbered the enemy in....

bluesky322