PDA

View Full Version : Dwarf Gunline 2k

eleveninches
12-03-2007, 16:17
I have been using dwarves for a few months now, and am wanting to change my style of play to a much more shooty army. When i started, the cheap core choices with high WS and S seemed too good to be true, but the problem with using them effectively is that they are slow, and hence they are easily outmanouvred without any fire-support. I started with an army without any fire support, then got slightly better results using a bit of fire-support, but now i want to use an all-gunline army. I have all of the models for this list, but how well do you think it would do?

LORDS:
313 points: Lord (pistol, master rune of alaric the mad, rune of striking, shield, shieldbearers, rune of shielding, rune of preservation, rune of resistance)

HEROES:
125 points: Dragonslayer (master rune of smiting, rune of speed)
75 points: Dragonslayer (rune of fury)
80 points: Master engineer (duel pistols)

CORE:
245 points: 15 Rangers (shields, great weapons, full command, rune of battle, throwing axes)
235 points: 15 Longbeards (shields, great weapons, full command)
150 points: 10 Thunderers (shields)
120 points: 10 Quarrellers (shields)

SPECIAL:
90 points: 2 bolt-throwers
80 points: Grudge thrower
90 points: Cannon
245 points: Miners (full command, steam drill, blasting charges)

RavenBloodwind
12-03-2007, 17:15
Just a couple of thoughts:

Heros:
you have two slayer characters and no slayer units. This makes these two T5 pincushion, I mean characters, very vulnerable to enemy magic and missile fire. Might be worth scaping the points for a slayer bodyguard unit or dumping them for a BSB or runesmith for some additional antimagic.

Core:
Your two melee units are a tad small for 2k. If you can scrape up the points (dumping a slayer?) and bulk them up to 20 rangers and 24 longbeards they'll have better durability

Specials: