PDA

View Full Version : Question on LM

Horus38
14-03-2007, 04:18
Sup all. I've been playing LM for almost 7 years now (my first army :rolleyes: ) and recently been pondering over the Slann. I have a 5th edition slann (converted) but I've been itching to get the new one. Being the frugal and scrupulous player that I am I like to get the most of my purchases.

So the question is: how big of a game would you need to be playing to use 2 slann? Furthermore has any other LM players out there used 2 slann in a game and how did it go?

I'm leaning towards a 4,000 point minimum for fielding two slann, but what's everyone else think?

As an aside I'm hardly a new LM player so no need for slann/LM tactics here.

arc
14-03-2007, 07:13
Depends on which generation you field. I guess 2 4th generation in 4000points is fine.

dominic_carrillo
14-03-2007, 07:28
you have to think, "would the Lizardmen dare take the chance of losing TWO slann in one battle?"

i think that you should play two second generation slann, because the penalty of losing such expensive units balances out the killer magic phase.

forgottenlor
14-03-2007, 08:14
I have never lost a slaan, though I came pretty close 2 times. I have fielded 2 slaans at 4000 points and once at 3000 points. I lost neither Slaan. I only played 2 slaan at 3000 points because I knew my opponent would be playing the Demonic legion from SOC and be vulnerable to magic, otherwise I would only field 2 at 4000 points.

huitzilopochtli
14-03-2007, 09:25
Two slann in one army? even in large points games you could end up being heavily outnumbered, (unless you take hundreds of skinks, but then you have very few good killy units). Y not take a oldblood on a carnosaur instead? it could help balance your force and its cheaper than a slann, (granted its only a little cheaper unless the slann is second gen and if it has a full complement of magic items, but it could still help with CC.)