PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone else think a Codex shouldn't take 6 months to a year to write?

EmperorEternalXIX
20-03-2007, 20:05
I dunno. I'm a designer, I've designed stuff here and there, including Game Systems (although much simpler than 40k). Maybe it's just me but I fail to see how a codex can take so long to make.

I'm also a writer and I've written plenty of sci-fi and fantasy stories. I bet my life that I could take any race from my stories and make an actual 40k codex in less than half that time, particularly if I had a dedicated team behind me.

I dunno. Just seems a bit screwy that folks like BA, Dark Eldar, and Orks have been waiting so long.

Arhalien
20-03-2007, 20:09
Where's the rumour in this exactly? :p

I don't mind codices taking a long time to write if it means that they're playtested well and balanced. The latest Codices seem to have been very good so hopefully the improvement will continue with the books which are taking a long time to do.

Charax
20-03-2007, 20:11
How is this news or a rumour, in any way,shape or form?

Now that's out of the way, Yes, I think it does take six months to a year to do - when you factor in the concept stage through to the models being produced, and playtesting, and the fact that they will probably only have one or two people working on a project at any one time. Six months would be the minimum I'd expect for a rushed release and a year is far more reasonable for decent playtesting, feedback and second/third stage playtesting to be done.

That's assuming GW actually follow that process of playtesting, tweaking and re-testing, but six months is a reasonable timespan, especially considering how many concurrent projects the studio will be working on at any one time.

leonmallett
20-03-2007, 20:12
Arhalien hits the nail on the head. The time isn't the writing but aiming for balance and thorough testing.

Now is this thread 'Discussion' bound?

I am just reiterating everything Arhalien says really...

sigur