PDA

View Full Version : Tactica: Steam Tanks

mikeydanuke2003
24-03-2007, 08:02
Okay, I am playing an Empire Nation (Nordland) in a Campaign being conducted at one of the Hobby Stores here in town. I am fairly new to Warhammer, and usually do try a sort of Hammer and Anvil setup, The hammer consisting of mobile troops (Knights, Outriders, Pistoliers) and the anvil (Gunline, blocks of infantry, artillery, and handgunners)

I've also been experimenting using a Steam Tank. The first battle I used it in, against an Orc army, I tried using it as an additional artillery piece (in the hammer force), but it misfired both times it fired, resulting in self-inflicting 5 wounds, at which point it sat out the rest of the battle.

The second battle, fighting Necra Vampires, I used it as a battering ram (in the Anvil force), and it was awesome. I managed to get a charge into a skelton unit's flank with the steam tank, in conjunction with a charge from some spearmen, and the Skeleton unit suffered 13 dead (?), 10 from impact hits from the tank. That also set me up for a second charge into another skeleton unit, and in conjunction with a swordsmen's unit charge. This time the Tank did 17 impact hits.

1st charge was using 5 Steam Points
2nd charge was using 8 Steam points

I was impressed. I might have to buy another Steam Tank for my army.

MDN

WanderingRogue
24-03-2007, 08:20
how did you get 8 steam points!!!!:eek:

your only allowed 5.

mikeydanuke2003
24-03-2007, 09:34
Wow, Wanderer, in preparing to reply to you I re-read the rulebook gain and realized that I had in fact done the Steam Tank incorrect.

Somehow I thought you generated steam points and added the die roll to it.

Glad you spoke up, could havge saved me a very embarrssing encounter if I ever make it to a tournament.

Thnaks