PDA

View Full Version : TK Tomb Scorpion vs. Carrion

Darth_DONG
30-03-2007, 15:04
I like the look and fluff of Tomb Scorpions a lot more than I like that of the Carrions. In game terms, I see most lists take units of 6-8 Carrions for flank/rear charges, and for war machine crews.

Does anyone think it would be possible for the Tomb Scorpions to fill this role, taking into account "It Came From Below..." or is it necessary to use Carrion?

Makaber
30-03-2007, 15:29
Weird that you'd say that, because the Tomb Scorpion is ridicilously awesome. Compare it to anything, and it's abundantly clear it's vastly underpriced. Carrions on the other hand, I've rarely seen. It seems most people fill up their special slots with the aforementioned scorps ...

Darth_DONG
30-03-2007, 15:51
I thought the Scorpions were pretty jacked myself, but I was looking at the Tactica for Tomb Kings (since I'm new at Fantasy) and seemed to leave with the impression that Carrion were pretty necessary. Not to say Scorpions were bad, but not as essential.

Maelx
30-03-2007, 15:52
Scops = less reliable but hit harder, character hunters

Carrior = more reliable, faster, flanker

depends on what role you need to fill..

DeathlessDraich
30-03-2007, 16:46
They both tend to be warmachine hunters.
A Scorpion that charges is nearly always guaranteed success but on the downside has to emerge successfully.
Carrion will cost more - usually successful with units of 4 or more as some will be shot down and/or destroyed by magic. Against dwarven warmachines, they struggle.

The balance I think favours the Scorpion - many TK opponents feel they are too strong.

Esco Thomson
30-03-2007, 17:04
The balance I think favours the Scorpion - many TK opponents feel they are too strong.

I have yet to hear that they are too strong, merely that they are a bit under priced.

The main and really only important point to consider here is; How soon do you need to tie up a war machine and/or a mage?