PDA

View Full Version : Spears or HW/Shield for Night Gobbos?

Green Feevah!
03-04-2007, 08:32
I am currently debating with a friend of mine over which is the best way to kit out a unit of Night Gobbos. I currently have them equipped with spears, but I was thinking that if I dropped the spears on my 2 Night Goblin units I'd have enough for another unit of Goblin Wolf Riders. My thinking is this:

- I have yet to be charged successfully with the Goblins, so I have never used the second rank to fight
- I don't really rely on Fanatics, so even if the unit does flee and doesn't manage to rally (which so far they always have since I keep my 2 units on either side of my main block of Boyz with my Warboss in it) it's not a big loss
- Their greatest use so far has been to terrify my opponent with the prospect of Fanatics and to bait charges so my Boyz can do what they do best.

Now I'm by no means an expert in Fantasy, and only have a couple dozen games under my belt, but I would like to get more information on whether saving those points and getting another unit is worth the effort of doing all those conversions (I'm using 6th ed Gobbos, I don't care for the 7th ed ones; therefore I have to make my own HW).

What do you think?

Head_Not_Found
03-04-2007, 12:32
Gobbos are all about quantity. As you already pointed making them cheap buys you another unit! Also, spears mean that you opt to have more attacks, therefore more wounds on the CR when you get charged. The thing is that you can never rely on gobbos to change the combat result by their fighting prowess! You just go for the automatic +5 (banner, ranks, outnumber), and think about downgrading the chargers' efficience. The nets are a must in this direction, and the bonus AS for HW+Shield ain't bad at all. So hand weapons is my choice!

The Blue Knight
03-04-2007, 13:25