PDA

View Full Version : TK Army Composition

A.Gentleman
29-04-2007, 14:18
Ok, Well I got my first TK the other day and I've been looking at my TK army book (I am yet to acquire the WFB rule book) and have been wondering what to make my army of. I've been thinking of going with a core of two units of 20 skeleton warriors (light armour, shields, spears and Banner of the Undying Legion{lets you regain wounds and models}), 16 heavy horsemen with the same banner and two units of 6 chariots with yet again, the same banner. Any suggestions? If I'm not giving you enough info to run off just lemme know

A.Gentleman

blurred
29-04-2007, 14:34
Well, I'm not an expert on Tomb kings, but at least I can inform you that you can't take the same magic item twice. Also, I'm not sure but I'd bet that regular skeletons can't have magical banners.

The most common setup for tomb kings is something as follows:

Tomb king
2-3 liches (or whatever the hero-level casters are called)
A unit of skeleton warriors
A unit of tomb guard (with the Icon of Rakaph, though this is a cliche)
A chariot unit or two
A unit of those big, ogre-like creatures
1-2 Tomb scorpions
1-2 Skull catapults
Maybe some carrions or a bone giant

Your army looks good though skeleton horsemen are quite awful IMO. Remember to take some tomb scorpions; they are possibly the best thing a tomb king army has to offer. Good luck with your new army. :)

A.Gentleman
29-04-2007, 14:51
Thanks for the reply. To tell the truth, I wasnt too sure about being able to take more than one of a magical item. However, Skeleton Warriors may take a magic standard worth up to 25pts :)
Ok. scrap the part with the all the Banners of the Undying Legion. Thoughts?

A.Gentlemen

Bloodknight
29-04-2007, 15:05
One unit of skeletons may take a 25 banner if the General is a King.
My personal army at 2K consists of
King with Destroyer and Collar of Shapesh (leads TG)
Prince with Great Weapon and Golden Ankhra (leads Skeletons)