PDA

View Full Version : Question for Current GW Employees

Naxeur
04-05-2007, 01:36
Hi, I'm currently living in Orlando, FL. I work as an actor, and the work does not come easily. I'm often working as a waiter or in retail at jobs I hate. I've really loved the GW hobby for years, and I'm looking for a change of career.

Lately, I've wanted nothing more than to work at a GW. I would like to be surrounded by things I enjoy, and don't mind doing the work at all. I see on the careers website that most of their stores appear to be hiring. Is this accurate? Or just leftover fluff from when they were hiring? What I mean to ask is, do they keep this information up to date.

Also, how is working there? Do you get enough hours etc?

I'm really interested in the prospect, but would have to move in order to do so. I want to have a rewarding job, and have been thinking about moving anyway.

Just looking for any advice. Thanks in advance.

Also, sorry if this is the wrong section for this. Figure it was a questioni about the company so it would be okay.

-Nax

Osbad
04-05-2007, 10:33
I suspect you may be a bit late...

GW aren't likely to be hiring much at the minute, and as for the long term prospects....

Animatronica
04-05-2007, 10:46
'thats not neccessarily true, the nature of GW means that positions tend to open up frequently (a lot of staff are at University or are students about to go to University.) It will depend a lot on the individual store and manager, if you want to work at a GW you will need a painted army for all three games systems and a basic knowledge of the rules of all three at least. i know people who have got away with two games and learnt the third on the job (you guessed it LOTR.)