PDA

View Full Version : New Skaven Player

Zoink
05-08-2005, 13:35
Greetings all. Mods: not sure whether this should be in 'army lists' or not.

I'm brand new to Skaven and WHFB in general (used to play first edition when I was a kid, but that was obviously a long time ago). I've played 40k a fair bit though - and come seeking a deeper, more tactical game.

Anyway, I was looking for advice on my fledgling swarm. I want a balanced, non-minmaxedlist (I don't like to say cheese).

So far I have:

60 clanrats
20 plaguerats
2 ratogres
2 rat swarms

I'm aiming for 1000pts and was going to by a warlord to lead and possibly an engineer, plus a ratling gun and some censer bearers.

Any suggestions on other purchases to round off this list?

x-esiv-4c
05-08-2005, 13:58
Hmm. Being a newbie to WHFB myself I'm not sure how worthy my advice is. However, I would be tempted to attached some ratling guns to those clanrats.

Zoink
05-08-2005, 14:01
Yeah, ratling guns look really cool and I'll certainly be getting one, or maybe 2. I'll be playing a gainst Chaos warriors and high elves the most, so I reckon I need to be able to shoot stuff up a bit.

Lainer
05-08-2005, 14:19
A pair of ratling guns would fit in nicely. Also consider a small unit of gutter runners. They have done wonders for me. Great for flanking and can also take out smaller units/shooters by them selves.

Zoink
05-08-2005, 14:22
So gutter runners for speed, and a pair of ratling guns for some firepower (and to stop armoured units)

Would you suggest 2 characters at 1000pts or just 1?

skavenguy13
05-08-2005, 15:52
Definately 2: a chieftain and WE with storm daemon + dispel scroll.
I'd use your 3rd unit of clanrats as slaves. When you have enough place on the field for them (they rock in small battles!) they work really well.