PDA

View Full Version : Ogres Killingblow



jesters89
05-08-2005, 17:43
Are ogres subject to killing blow? They are larger than mansize (due to base) but they are not large. Thanks.
Jeremy

Antaeus
05-08-2005, 17:44
They're immune to it. Only normal man-size targets are eligible for Killing Blow :) An extra guideline I use is in terms of Unit Strength as well as base size: if it's got a US of more than 1, generally (I think universally but I'm hedging my bets) it's too big to be KBed. Not a rule, but a useful guideline in case of confusion, I think.

Avian
05-08-2005, 17:45
Are they "roughly mansized"? No
Does normal* KB then work on them? No

* there are some items that specifically grant KB against ogres, Throt's thingscatchers, for example. These are clearly stated exceptions.

x-esiv-4c
05-08-2005, 17:50
But KB can still work on a mounted rider though can't it?

Antaeus
05-08-2005, 18:03
Yes, but the target is the rider not the horse. As I said, a guideline, not a rule :)

Avian
05-08-2005, 18:07
But KB can still work on a mounted rider though can't it?
As long as it has a roughly mansized rider. If the rider (the target of the attack) is not roughly mansized then KB will not work.

x-esiv-4c
05-08-2005, 18:07
Roger that. Was reading the WHFB rule-book last night and trying to make sure I understand everything ( I am teh noobling )

jesters89
05-08-2005, 18:14
Thanks folks. The reason I ask is because at a tourney I was fielding ogres and a guy had some stuff that KB'd and I told him it was ineffective on ogres as they werent mansize. He said "okay, well my bretonian blah blah blah is armed with something that can KB large creatures" and I told him that wouldnt work either... as ogres arent large. I just wanted to see if I was playing by the rules. Thanks guys.

Avian
05-08-2005, 18:37
That's correct. The Ogres are not roughly mansized, but they are not Large Targets either.

Tom - Heretic
05-08-2005, 23:12
I thought that the bret item did work on ogres? IIRC it states it works on any model, not just man sized creatures. It doesn't say "large targets".

I'm probably woefully incorrect, but felt like chiming in :)

Xavier
05-08-2005, 23:37
The virtue only works on large targets.

Everence
08-08-2005, 07:18
There is also some skaven lord (Throt the Unclean?) that can deliver Killing Blow on Ogres, Kroxigors, Treekin, etc.

Just telling you for later reference. :)

Flame
08-08-2005, 16:41
And remember that pegi knights and deamon cavalry can also be killing blowed.