PDA

View Full Version : Wood elves, the blog!

Falkman
09-05-2007, 17:13
Hi there, fellow Warseers *waves*.
I've been playing Warhammer for about 7 years, and don't have a single army painted :eek:
This is partly because I don't really like to paint that much, and partly because I get very easily distracted by new stuff.
Every time I've sat down and tried to paint up an army, there has been a new shiny army released, or a new must-have video game to buy.
So I thought that now, with no interesting armies on the horizon (High elves in november, and I couldn't care less :p), I thought, let's give it another shot, and this time, let's document it online, perhaps that will give me the extra needed push to actually finish an army.

I've had an interest for Ogres and Bretonnia for long, but this time I chose Wood elves, because I had tried them out in some test games, and found them very funny to play.
I had an idea for a Wood elf army back when the new models were released, but I never went and bought any.
This time, I picked up on that idea, and I'm gonna continue and make it come true.

The army will consist of mostly elves, with the only tree spirits being a unit of dryads lead by a branchwraith, and a unit of wild riders.
The paint scheme is inspired by Warcraft's night elves, who I find have a really fascinating take on elves, with the radical skin and hair colours.

So far I've finished a unit of 5 wardancers (I will add 2 more later on) and have started to assemble my dryad unit (11 man strong).
I found the wardancers to be pretty fun to paint actually, and hope that I will continue to actually find pleasure in painting for once :p
(this might be because I've used highlighting and shading this time, something I've actually never tried before, and I'm very pleased with the results myself).

I've bought quite a lot of models to start up the force, and when the models I have today are painted I can assemble a force worth 1250 pts.