PDA

View Full Version : Help!!! - Do I have a claim?

boogle
06-08-2005, 21:02
hi there, i was packing up a lot of my stuff in preparation for my sister moving in with us and whilst doing this i noticed that a couple of boxes of stuff weren't there, i questioned my wife and she said that she had thrown out some full boxes on Monday night, when i check some of the other boxes, i found only sprues and stuff that was meant to be thrown out. I have made a list of stuff that i have lost and it comes to nearly 3000 (nearly 1/3 of it on a Tank Company alone), as i have been colecting my stuff for 13 years, i don't have any receipts of stuff, therefore i don't have any real proof that i owned the stuff, naturally i'm gutted and the wife is mortified (she was nearly crucified), but do i have a chance at making a claim on the house contents insurance for accidental loss (she did throw out the wrong boxes after all)?

thanks for any help given

GAWD
06-08-2005, 21:09
Boy, this is gonna be almost impossible to claim. You better pray your claims adjuster is a REALLY nice guy.

t-tauri
06-08-2005, 21:14
The thing with any gaming related collectable stuff or even things like stamps or coins is unless it's specifically mentioned on your contents insurance and the additional policy paid then you're only covered up to a certain figure stated in your policy. It might be 500 or 1000. Or less. :(

Read the policy. Never let your wife touch games related material again.

boogle
06-08-2005, 21:15
is a claims adjuster a UK or a US thing?, i've looked at my policy and the contents are insured up to 50,000, plus i've never had to make a claim before (i was hoping i would never have to ever, but if theres a chance on getting something out of this debacle, then i'll try)

t-tauri - TBH i would even settle for 1000

t-tauri
06-08-2005, 21:24