PDA

View Full Version : 1st attempt at vampire counts list, please advise

jimyg
16-05-2007, 17:10
im a complete noob to warhammer let alone vampire counts so any help you could give me with this 1000pt list would be greatly apreciated

LORD: 223 pts
vampire count/ blood dragon
nightmare with barding

HERO: 140 pts
necromancer
lvl 2 upgrade, staff of damnation

CORE: 210 pts
20 skeletons
spears, SB,MU and captain

CORE: 185 pts
20 skeletons
hand weapons, SB,Mu and captain

CORE: 80 pts
10 ghouls

SPECIAL: 155
5 black Knights
hell night, SB, MU

993 points total
i really have no idea what im dooing. i think the vampire count might be a bit over the top for such a small army but i have this great older modell. ( the vampire lord mettal modell with a bald head rideing a nightmare with heavy armour ) and i really want to include him from the start. other than that i have 1 box of skellies that i havent assembled yet.

StrangeGuy
16-05-2007, 17:17
For a first go that really isn't that bad at all however, there are a couple of things, firstly, you can't have a Lord at this points value. I suggest reading the page before the bit with the lords (can't remember the page no and don't have the book on me.) Downgrade it to a thrall and give him a lance and shield atleast. Then with the points you save (proberly around 100!) I suggest bulking out your skeleton squads so they have some more ranks (outnumbering is almost essential). Also get rid of the captains in the skele squads as I find they are nigh on useless.

Hope that helps,
StrangeGuy

jimyg
16-05-2007, 17:51
thanks for the input

how does this look

Vampire thrall/blood dragon: 110 pts
nighmare barding,heavy armour,strength of steel
( the modell i have is rideing a barded warhorse and has a large sword and is wearing what looks like heavy armour.)

Necromancer: 140 pts
lvl 2 upgrade, staff of damnation

25 skellies: 245 pts
spears, SB,MU

30 skellies: 265 pts
SB,MU

10 ghouls: 80 pts

5 black Knights: 155 pts