PDA

View Full Version : Tactics for Orcs vs dwarves

lucifugo
18-05-2007, 09:43
Hi!
I am a newbie O&G.
I need advices on tactics to use against the hatred Dwarves.
Can you help me?

I've found a similiar post but it is referred to 6th edition :(

deadkez
18-05-2007, 11:14
It's difficult to offer sound advice without having anything more specific (such as a run down of the army lists). I'll offer what I can though.

The typical Dwarf tactic is to castle up a hill somewhere, so 2-3 artillery pieces on a hill with lots of shooters a level below this and then a ton of decent combat troops at the bottom. Oh, and the whole army hates, pretty much, the whole of your army.
He'll try to panic as many units as possible and then destroy anything that is stubborn enough to get into combat.

Your challenge is to overwhelm him with good units, whilst the fleeing units are the stuff you didn't want in combat anyway.

I'd take medium sized goblin units (7x3?), keep them cheap and cheerful (musician only), the sort of thing that's going to screen your combat troops but looks like its worth shooting (night goblins are good, as he'll be expecting fanatics). Lots of wolves with spears that can get into flanking positions. Your combat troops- orcs with shields and savage orcs (immune to panic whilst frenzied). Leave the chariots & giants at home, they are just cannon fodder.

Some other untried ideas (by myself anyway): A big squig herd with goblin flesh shields- this races ahead and tries to get itself killed- scattering the squigs into his ranks. Doom Diver- possibly more accurate than his warmachines, a couple of hits into his artillery nest will start worrying him- go for the organ guns. Snarsnik- there's a fair chance the sneaky traps rule will render the warmachines, or miners, less useful. In fact, theres something, don't charge miners- that hurts. Pump Wagons might be an idea too, he'll divert a lot of shooting at them, and you can afford to lose them.

Caution, bad idea alert!