PDA

View Full Version : Dwarfs viable?

BlackViper
18-05-2007, 14:57
I've been playing mordheim for a couple of years now with a few friends. I've always had the same skaven warband (not the uber-cheesy build, it does ok). Thing is, I only have a handful of painted models. I often think about switching to Dwarfs, since I have a paited Dwarf army with some great models.

Problem is that Dwarfs look (on paper at least) to be a bit poorly designed for the game. We all know that large numbers of fast, cheap troops armed with 2 knives usually win. Dwarfs are elite, expenisve and slow.

The best idea I can see is to arm them with crossbows and spears were possible - but my spearmen are as yet unpainted (and the point is, obvioulsy to field a painted warband).

Does anyone play them? has anyone tried and given up? are they any good? does anyone have any helpful suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Inquisitor Konig
18-05-2007, 20:24
You can check out my list down the page. I play Dwarfs differently than most people. You are right, they are slow and elite and expencive... but that is just on paper. In games they get mobbed and overrun and often cannot grab the loot if the objective requires moving. However, after a two or three games they really start to come alive! They make more money than anyone else in the game so it isnt hard buying more guys later. Once they start getting T5 and a couple other skills their Heros never die. Ive had a noble stand up to wave after wave of Rat Men armed just with a dagger and club over and over again. As long as you stick all your guys together and rely on how hard it is to kill them they do ok. I like pistols and Hired Swords so that is what I take. Blunder Buss on the Engineer gets a 22" shot (requires a skill to use)! If the enemy tries to gang up on you BAM! You can hit 4 or 5 guys easy. Ive played Drarfs against a lot of stuff and they hold their own. You will have a lot of trouble with them for the first 2 games but then they shine!