PDA

View Full Version : New to LotR

HolySanguinius
25-05-2007, 07:31
Hi all

I'm new to LotR. I picked up the ambush at amon hen and the uruk seige box along with the best of LotR white dwarf. For $25 from a GW store :D God bless their 30th birthday :D I thought hell, why not.

So I have

Lurtz
3 Uruk hai
2 Bezerkers
8 uruk engineers (assemble as normal uruks?)
2 bombs
4 ladders
3 uruk hai (total 6)
2 uruks carrying merry and pippin

So my question is, what to buy next, whats good, a sample list perhaps. Whats the smallest size game.

Major Thom
25-05-2007, 14:16
A plastic box set of Scout Uruk Hai or regular Uruks, possibly Saruman as well.

HolySanguinius
25-05-2007, 19:51
Whats better? Should I give them crossbows/sheilds/bows/pikes?

Is saruman useful at such small points levels?

Pertinax
25-05-2007, 20:19
I'm going to get dragged into this again, aren't I?

Orcs. Get a box of orcs. They will flesh out your force. Then, I'd get a box of Fighting Uruk Hai, you appear to be lacking a few of those. You then assemble everything you have, and start to play games with about 300 points.

Wait with Saruman until you start playing 500 points or more.

Gondorian
26-05-2007, 00:04
Look at the Isengard models and pick a few of the ones that you think look coolest.

HolySanguinius
26-05-2007, 01:29
Hmm, I want to stay away from "lesser" orcs as much as possible. I just don't like the models or the idea.

Wargs look cool, and how effective is an isenguard troll?

Joewrightgm
26-05-2007, 03:19
The Isengard Troll is stupid rediculous. in a very good way.

and yes, the Wargs are really cool, in more ways then one. the keep people off your flank, neutralize cavalry, and make a annoyance for your opponent.

Pertinax
26-05-2007, 08:31
Hmm, I want to stay away from "lesser" orcs as much as possible. I just don't like the models or the idea.

*is back on my limb again*

HolySanguinius
26-05-2007, 09:13
*is back on my limb again*