PDA

View Full Version : Tomb Kings vs Orcs

Ymir
06-06-2007, 22:05
I'm playing the Tomb Kings, and will be facing an orc army on Sunday; 2000 points. The thing is, I'm pretty new at this, and the only time I've met orcs before, I got crushed. So I was looking for some general tips. What are Tomb Kings advantages/weaknesses against orcs? What units should I field? And so on. (Note; the opponent plays a pure orc army. No goblins and such).

Things I'm thinking of is:
- The Orcs have high toughness. My archers won't do much damage at all against them. Maybe I should skip archers altogether, and prioritize large blocks of skeletons as core; outnumbering for fear and all that.

For other core, I was thinking of fielding one or two tomb swarm bases, and a unit of eight skeleton heavy cavalry with a tomb prince in chariot in the middle.

As specials go; 19 tomb guards w. a tomb prince or a liche priest, 3 chariots. But maybe ushabti would be a good idea, again considering the orchs high toughness?

As general strategy go, I'm thinking of doing some kind of gunline with a Screaming Skull Catapult and a Casket of Souls; and generally a magic heavy-list, with a liche high priest and two liche priest, only one tomb prince. How strong are orc magic? If I field the casket, maybe three priest are a total waste of points?

The other option I've been considering are more heavy on the hard-hitting specials; ushabti, tomb guard, more tomb princes, again with one or two large blocks of ordinary skeleton warriors as core. But then I can hardly afford the casket; It seems I have to choose between gunline or heavy support-approach.

What do you guys think?

/Ymir

sephiroth87
06-06-2007, 22:32