PDA

View Full Version : LOS for Cannons

EldarZach
12-08-2005, 04:38
Sorry guys, I'm new to Fantasy and couldn't find this anywhere in the rulebook.

Which warmachines need LOS?

Cannons?

Bolt Throwers?

Stone Throwers? (The rulebook says stonethrowers don't need to be able to see that target, but it says, "They must be able to see the direction of the target," or something like that)

Thanks for all the help guys.

Alco Engineer
12-08-2005, 06:23
I beleive that now they all do. Stone throwes need to be able to see an enemy unit in that direction (i.e. can't see through your own guys so you can't shoot over them) and the same for imperial mortars. You can always over guess the range if you want to shoot over an opposing unit so that's why you have to be able to see them.

Bolt throwers need LOS as they fire more horizontally.

As for cannons I'm pretty sure you need LOS but you could probably over guess your initial guess if you want to shoot an enemy behind an enemy unit but your opponent might cotton onto that after a couple of turns.

I'm pretty sure that's how they work. I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong

Tarax
12-08-2005, 08:44
In the Annual 2002 there is a whole article about War Machines.

(With some other articles, it's about the best there is)

War Machines break down to:
-Stone Thrower, Screaming Skull Catapult, and others: you need to see the enemy, but you may overguess

-Flame Cannon, Warpfire Thrower: you require LoS

-Cannon, Mortar: you require LoS, but you may NOT overguess

-Non-guess range weapons (eg. Bolt Thrower, Helblaster): you require LoS

Hope this helps.

gortexgunnerson
12-08-2005, 08:51
Its yet another wonderful clarification by GW lol how do you tell / stop over guessing with guess range weapons. OK if theirs a unit right in front and you lob in 4 foot over his head it might be obvious but other then that its pretty hard to inforce

TeddyC
12-08-2005, 10:54