PDA

View Full Version : Empire vs. Bretonnia, 1000pts

Fanfan
09-04-2005, 13:09
I need advice about facing the Bretonians at 1000pts. Should I go for an infantry list supported by artillery? Or would I better try an all heavy cavalry army flanked by pistoliers?

BullBuchanan
09-04-2005, 17:05
I'm not that familiar with empire and I just started playing with bretonnians, but what I can tell you is that facing bretonnians is a real pain in the ass. Their 2+ armour save and 6+ ward save will cause huge problems for bowmen and HtH combat. They will almost always win CR as well because not only do they have their saves but they get a rank for every 3 complete models(lance formation) they also have banners to add to CR when going up against a unit of Knights you are looking at them starting off with a minimum of +4 CR, plus probably Outnumber.

This being said I would maximize my force with things that negate armor(warmachines) and stress on breaking them through panic caused by shooting casualties. In a unit of 9 3 wounds is enough to make them take a panic test. Always go for a unit which has many frineds(but not the general) near by so when they break others are likely to as well. Bretonnians have a fairly low ld of 7 or 8 depending on the troop, so if you break one unit you stand a chance of forcing their whole army to fall apart.

It is at this point that id charge with heavy cavalry and try to run them down. 1000 points probably puts odds in his favor because that means you can only afford a minimum of artillery. Id go with 2 great cannons and a hellblaster for when they get in close. That is if you have it. I would wait until the absolute last moment to charge, until you have no other option. wait for him to march his troops across the field while you blast away at his units with artillery at an elevated position.