PDA

View Full Version : Etham Build His Guys: A Long-term Dark Angels vs. CW Eldar Project Log

etham
22-06-2007, 22:55
Log Entry 001: Introduction

After more than a year of building up models, supplies, and background material I am finally going to put it all together! I have everything out of storage (I moved twice this year) and the pile of junk in the corner that my girlfriend keeps on me about is nearly gone so I am allowed to make a different pile of junk in a different corner now.

IT'S TIME TO GET TO WORK!

General Mission
I am giving myself just over a year from today to get two armies built. By July 1, 2008, I want to have both my Eldar and Dark Angels armies finished and on a table. This isn't going to be as easy as it might sound, because since the summer of 2006 I've been accumulating models at a steady pace.

My Experience
I started painting Space Wolves in 1988 and Epic-scale marines and Eldar in 1990. I put the hobby down from 1992 to 2006, during which time I was painting paintings and making websites. I started modeling and converting in 2006, but I haven't painted minis in 15 years.

My Armies

Dark Angels
These may end up being a successor chapter, but since I haven't decided yet, I doubt it. Whatever happens, they will not end up being Dark Angels Green. There is a brilliantly painted Warhound Titan in a recent White Dwarf that is metallic black with copper trim. This is my inspiration for my DA battle companies (3 through 9).

The Ravenwing will still be black, but not metallic and maybe on the shiny side and with a different trim color. Deathwing will be white, not bone, with gold or silver trim. I've been thinking about this for two years, so suggestion on this subject are welcome, but probably won't be taken.

Craftworld Eldar
These are Craftworld Eldar of my own creation. Their color scheme is based on WW1-era German Lozenge-Pattern Camouflage, Nature, and stained glass windows in a church down the street from my house.