PDA

View Full Version : -1+ Armour save?



BullBuchanan
09-04-2005, 15:40
Is this possible? I was reading in the rulebook(page 64) where it mentions that it is possible to attain a 1+ armour save or better, and I was wondering if you could in fact have a -1+ armour save. Now obviously a roll of 1 always fails, but I think something like this would come in handy against a S6 for example, still giving me a 2+.

by the way, my method for coming to this would be having the master rune of gromril, giving me a 1+ and then having a shield +1, and being in HtH with a Hand weapon and shield +1.

Khorn on the march
09-04-2005, 15:53
Yes, you can have a -1+ armour save.

5upr3m3 h4xx0rz
09-04-2005, 15:58
DAMN!!!!!!!! That is awesome! Can you get more than a -1+ save?

BullBuchanan
09-04-2005, 16:13
DAMN!!!!!!!! That is awesome! Can you get more than a -1+ save?
Not unless you had a magic item besides your armor, and anyway, what are you facing that you need better than a 2+ against a s6? :D Imagine getting a 6+ against a S10, well you can do it this way :)

5upr3m3 h4xx0rz
09-04-2005, 16:19
and then you get a 4+ ward....

5upr3m3 h4xx0rz
09-04-2005, 16:22
Oh wait....the master rune of gromril cant be improved in any way so i guess not:(

Cheesejoff
09-04-2005, 16:31
Dont think you can get more than -1+...

4+ full plate
2+ enchanted shield
0+ barded steed
-1+ helmet of some type

Grimtuff
09-04-2005, 16:32
its doable, with lizzies IIRC, think it is a saurus on a cold one with enchanted shield and some other magic armour, it gives him that save IIRC

Atrahasis
09-04-2005, 18:19
High Elves can get a -2+ rerollable save against shooting.

5upr3m3 h4xx0rz
09-04-2005, 18:49
How (i play elves and id love to know how to do this for a lord on a dragon)?

Grimtuff
09-04-2005, 19:00
How (i play elves and id love to know how to do this for a lord on a dragon)?

well you cant, as +2 of that save comes from being mounted on a barded steed

taer
09-04-2005, 19:17
Dont think you can get more than -1+...

4+ full plate
2+ enchanted shield
0+ barded steed
-1+ helmet of some type


Nope, can't have two magic armors.

athamas
09-04-2005, 19:24
can have enchanted shield + magic armour.....


was clarified in a faq at some point


a HE general with Enchanted shiled on barded steeed with dragon armour, a lion cloak and healm of fortune, gets a -2+ rerollable save vs shooting......but only o 0+ in combat...

it looks nasty, but aint that grerat..... the armour of protection, Eshield, on barded steed is great though, 50pt of magic for a 2+ save and a 4+ ward save!

5upr3m3 h4xx0rz
09-04-2005, 23:14
You only get that 4+ ward if you fail your save, you dont get it against things that completely cancel your save out.

Eldacar
10-04-2005, 00:35
HA, Enchanted Shield, Helm of Fortune, Barded Elven Steed, Lion Guard.

Plus, this character is stubborn, too. And in CC, his AS is 0+ re-rollable.

shroud
10-04-2005, 05:18
[EDIT] People beat me to it :p
however, you don't get -2+ save with HE.

And with the ward save business, you get ward saves even against things which don't allow saves. eg: Blade of Sea Gold. However there are magic items which don't allow ward saves but DO allow normal armour saves, eg: lizzie item: blade of realities

Stouty
10-04-2005, 09:45
I think the important things to remember are:
1. You still can't catch a cannon ball in the chest without going splat
2.Despite all the points you've spent you've still got a 1 in 6 chance of fluffing it up

WLBjork
10-04-2005, 14:59
Stouty is pretty much spot on. In fact, against most RnF troops, you'll have no advantage over a 2+ AS. Most of the time, a 1+ save is good enough.

the_night_reaper
10-04-2005, 16:20
how about chosen chaos knights in combat?

4+ chaos armour
3+sheild
1+barded steed
0+sheild+hand weapon in combat

could that work so you would get a 2+ save against S5?

squiggoth
10-04-2005, 16:37
Knights... Hand weapon and shield bonus... Have you found the error in that combo already?

Frankly, I can't care much for "negative" armour saves. Being almost invulnerable to low S attacks doesn't save your butt from rank bonuses, standards, outnumbering, being in a challenge with someone who has a No Save Allowed weapon and the fact that rolling too low on your flee roll is quite lethal.
That said, if I remember correctly, Dark Elves and Lizards can get negative armour saves too.

neXus6
10-04-2005, 17:32
Yeah any character that can get a 4+ save ride a steed with barding and carry the enchanted shield can get a 0+. That's easy, -1 is a bit harder.

chivalrous
10-04-2005, 17:32
Dark Elves can manage a 0+ (-1+ vs. missles) armour save with Cold One, Heavy Armour, Enchanted Shield and a Sea Dragon Cloak.
Although I tend to prefer using the Shield of Ghrond instead if the Enchanted Shield which does practically the same thing.

Bretonnians can manage a 0+ with a re-roll with Heavy Armour, Barded steed, Gromril great Helm and Enchanted Shield.

Darius Rhiannon
10-04-2005, 17:44
But the thing about the HE 0 saves is not only is it a 0 save, it is also a 0 re-rollable save. Combine it with the Talisman of Saphery (Magical Weapons count as ordinary weapons) and you have discovered the immortal prince.

kirbyroxor
10-04-2005, 18:23
I don't wanna start a new topic, so I'll post my question in here (Its related to the topic). Does a khorne marked rider benifit from a juggernaut of knorne's 4+ save?

Festus
10-04-2005, 19:55
No

The Jugger is a Monster and thus provides no protection to the rider apart from rolling to spread out shooting hits.

Greetings
Festus

Major Defense
10-04-2005, 22:42
can have enchanted shield + magic armour.....


was clarified in a faq at some point

I guess I'm going to have to go ahead and defy you to show me that FAQ because the BRB is pretty damned clear about the fact that you can't combine individual pieces of magical armor. At all.

chivalrous
10-04-2005, 23:10
I guess I'm going to have to go ahead and defy you to show me that FAQ because the BRB is pretty damned clear about the fact that you can't combine individual pieces of magical armor. At all.

Ah, the whole reason the subject was added to the FAQ in the first place was because the BRB states specifically in the rules for the Enchanted Shield on page 154

"This can be combined with other magical or mundane armour"

The FAQ was posted on the original portent forums and was (and maybe still is) on the GW Q+A forum.

Major Defense
11-04-2005, 00:43
Ah, the whole reason the subject was added to the FAQ in the first place was because the BRB states specifically in the rules for the Enchanted Shield on page 154


The FAQ was posted on the original portent forums and was (and maybe still is) on the GW Q+A forum.

Well I will be double-damned! I always stopped reading on the subject once I hit the paragraph at the top of page 153. That really opens up some possibilities for me!

athamas
11-04-2005, 07:48
that was the idea... its a 'comon' magic shield.. why would ppl not use it with snazy armour...


most pieces conflict because they would be worn in the same place...