PDA

View Full Version : Considering Beginning necromunda - A few questions

||-MARKO-||
30-06-2007, 21:08
Hey All

Im Considering (only considering Necromunda) soon, as Ive been playing mainstream games for a decent 4-5 years now, and have lots of experience in 40k, have started 6 months ago on fantasy, and played LOTR for a long while (as a youngster though, I didnt know the rules really.. :p )

Either way, It seems pretty good fun and all that, and The idea of personalising the gang seems good. But Im a bit taken aback by the rules - would they be too different and confuse me? Ive had aflick over the rules on the site, and they seem a bit.. scattered and confusing (although that may just be the result of lack of sleep.... ).

Also, Im slightly worried that I may end up spending my cash on a gang and then, what with being a younger player and not actually knowing many other necromunda players. How easy do you think it'd be to get some friends into the game?

Finally, I'm also a little worried it may be expensive... As Im planning on doing the ghosts out of the novels fighting in the hive to mainting a sense of order against riots and feuds etc....

Thanks for reading, Marko

Major_Gilbear
01-07-2007, 16:40
I would start by printing out the full rulebook and getting a few proxy models sorted out. It is easier to read the rules as a book, and you will probably want to try out a couple of turns worth of action as you go. If you have a friend to game with, so much the better.

If you would like a cheap gang to start with, a box of Catachans is a good choice; there are enough models models for two full gangs, and the 'Chans can pass for either Goliaths or Orlocks (the two starting gangs that came with the original game). Plus, if you have that friend I mentioned above, you can split the cost of the box with them!