View Full Version : What ambush bonus?

16-07-2007, 16:39
from WFB v7 errata

Q. Does the change in the rules for the rank bonus from
the previous edition mean that Beast of Chaos units
with the Raiders rule can now form up five wide when
fighting units with a small frontage?

A. No, the Raider rules must of course be played as
written, so in these cases the Raiders will still form up
four wide and will not a get a rank bonus. This makes
them weaker against small enemy units, but we are
confident the increased power of their Ambush rule in
the new edition more than compensates for this.
Whats this 'increased power of their Ambush rule'? I can't see any bonus to be had..

16-07-2007, 16:42
Fleeing through enemy units can be devastating...

16-07-2007, 16:45
ah yeah of course! thx :)

16-07-2007, 16:47
The ambushers can emerge in a thin, wide formation and destroy troops fleing towards the table edge. Granted, many fleeing troops would run of the table anyway, but the ambushers drastically reduce the available space for fleing troops to flee and rally.


16-07-2007, 18:00
I think they still get rank bonus for 4 models wide. They're the exception to the rule. I'd check GW website errata section.

16-07-2007, 18:05
Did you read the original post?

16-07-2007, 18:16
There is no bonus in my mind. The way ambush works now, your units move slower on the first turn they come out, and, as said before, fleeing troops will generally run off the table anyway.

Beastherds got nerfed all the way. But it just has made me more crafty in how I use them and prepare my lists. Hopefully, things will get better when the new book comes out.

16-07-2007, 19:04
The ambushers can emerge in a thin, wide formation and destroy troops fleing towards the table edge.Beast Herds can only emerge in a thin, wide formation.

16-07-2007, 19:58
don't they mean that the "ambush" rule is the bonus??

16-07-2007, 20:00
Nope, they mean that it has been improved, while many players would argue the opposite.

16-07-2007, 20:55
Beast Herds can only emerge in a thin, wide formation.

According to the direwolf FAQ for Beasts of Chaos:

"Q. What is the proper procedure for positioning an Ambushing Beast
Herd onto the table in its initial location? Must you line up
every model along the edge of the table?

A. Each model moves onto the table from the entry point, moving no
more than their base movement (no marching!). Note that this is
a slightly different procedure than the main rules for returning
from Pursuit Off The Table, as the Beasts of Chaos army book rules
take precedence on how to physically move the Ambushing models
onto the table.
S. Beasts of Chaos Army Book page 18 / Rulebook page 43"

16-07-2007, 21:02
That FAQ is wrong, pure and simple. I've already contacted Direwolf about it and they are "looking into it".

16-07-2007, 21:30
That's the 2nd or 3rd time I've seen that Direwolf FAQ quoted, and it's just bad. Having a 3rd party FAQ is like asking your mother if your outfit looks good. The answer means nothing.

I think beastmen should have been forced to go 5 wide in errata, but oh well. That's the way it goes.