PDA

View Full Version : Some War Altar and Warrior Priest questions



Arnizipal
05-08-2007, 22:36
If a Warrior Priest persues off the table, does he still generate dispell dice?

If the Arch Lector is killed, can the War Altar still move and fight or is it removed along with its rider?

How does the Sigil of Assuryan work against the Light Magic spells cast by the War Altar?

Gazak Blacktoof
05-08-2007, 22:39
If the Arch Lector is killed, can the War Altar still move and fight or is it removed along with its rider?


I believe this is covered in the chariot rules

Arnizipal
05-08-2007, 23:05
Actually it isn't.

empireguard
05-08-2007, 23:51
If a Warrior Priest persues off the table, does he still generate dispell dice?

If the Arch Lector is killed, can the War Altar still move and fight or is it removed along with its rider?

How does the Sigil of Assuryan work against the Light Magic spells cast by the War Altar?


Yes as he is always on the table in the magic phase

As it stands, yes it can (but a FAQ might change this) however it can not cast the light spell. Seem silly but the rules say it does.

I'm Not sure what the Sigil does?

explorator
06-08-2007, 03:47
The Sigil, if you make a successful roll, would work as normal.

T10
06-08-2007, 07:51
Actually it isn't.

The chariot rules make no distinction between a chariot with a crew and a chariot without. Keeping the War Altar in play does not break any rules, but it does seem odd that the steeds pulling have such a fine grasp of the army's tactics... :)

-T10

Masque
06-08-2007, 09:07
Yes as he is always on the table in the magic phase

This is simply wrong.

BRB, Page 107, first sentence
"Fleeing models, and those that are not on the table, do not generate dispel dice."


The Sigil, if you make a successful roll, would work as normal.

The Sigil would always dispel the spell but would never destroy it. The destroy portion of the Sigil's effect requires the spell to have been cast by a Wizard, which an Arch Lector is not.

Lord Kaiaphas
07-08-2007, 14:05
another question about the war altar:
the priest spell that cures all wounds on a model, does that cure only the arch lector or also the altar (it is 1 model, but with different stat lines)?

Xavier
07-08-2007, 14:20
You would have to specify which part of it you were healing, the altar or the arch lector.

Masque
07-08-2007, 14:23
another question about the war altar:
the priest spell that cures all wounds on a model, does that cure only the arch lector or also the altar (it is 1 model, but with different stat lines)?

It would only heal the target character not his mount.


You would have to specify which part of it you were healing, the altar or the arch lector.

Prayers can only be used on characters or unit champions.

DarthBinky
07-08-2007, 15:49
The Sigil would always dispel the spell but would never destroy it. The destroy portion of the Sigil's effect requires the spell to have been cast by a Wizard, which an Arch Lector is not.
The War Altar's rules say that the Golden Griffon works exactly like a bound spell.

The rules for bound spells in the BRB state that items that dispel/destroy spells, including dispel scrolls, work normally against bound spells.

The Sigil says it destroys the spell.

The Sigil would in fact destroy the spell cast by the War Altar. It doesn't matter that the Sigil mentions a wizard- the bound item rules (pg 121, BRB) override that by saying it works "as normal".

Arnizipal
07-08-2007, 16:41
So would the priest still be able to cast Light Magic or is it just on spell of the lore that got destroyed (odd as that may sound).

EvC
07-08-2007, 16:52
So... does that mean the Altar can still cast a Light spell, just not the destroyed one, or does it completely neutralise the spellcasting ability?

explorator
07-08-2007, 17:52
The Sigil says it destroys the spell.

I cannot see any indication that the item is affected, just the spell. I also notice the the Sigil's rules for dispel are different than a dispel scrol. This is probably just a 6th/7th issue.

DarthBinky
07-08-2007, 17:57
I cannot see any indication that the item is affected, just the spell.
Agreed. The Sigil just says it destroys the spell. So a Golden Griffon could still cast other spells.