PDA

View Full Version : Flyers



FarmerJoe16
07-08-2007, 03:52
can someone explain me how to move and charge fly units like pegasus knights? i read the section in the rulebook but i still dont get it. like how far do they move and charge? PLEASE EXPLAIN!

Festus
07-08-2007, 05:49
20". Always. May pivot once during the charge.

What exactly is there to explain?

Festus

knightime98
07-08-2007, 06:43
Festus is right.

Flyers never move 1/2 distance for a failed charge. They always move 20" when they fly and failed a charge.

There are a few exceptions;
for instance if you would land on one of your own units. In this case you move the flying unit back to just making contact with your friendly unit.

You may never land in woods. If you want to move in woods then you have to use your regular movement base halved (NOT YOUR FLY MOVE!!!).

You must be able to see the unit BEFORE you charge. It must be in your Line of Sight and Charge Arc. Not sure if Pegasus Knights have 360 LOS or not.

You fly 20" and if the enemy unit stands and is within your charge range then you line up for combat where the enemy unit stands.

For the most part it is really straight forward.

Gorbad Ironclaw
07-08-2007, 07:23
Pegasus Knights are skirmishers(as are all flying units), so they do have a 360 LoS.

WLBjork
07-08-2007, 08:19
Flyers never move 1/2 distance for a failed charge. They always move 20" when they fly and failed a charge.

To be more precise, a failed charge results in a normal move, which - as stated - is normally 20" for a flyer.

Masque
07-08-2007, 08:37
20". Always. May pivot once during the charge.

Pegasus Knights can actually pivot as much as they like/need while charging as they are Skirmishers.

Ninsaneja
07-08-2007, 09:02
Skirmishers can do that? IDTS.

Festus
07-08-2007, 09:12
Pegasus Knights can actually pivot as much as they like/need while charging as they are Skirmishers.

You might want to re-check...

Festus

Masque
07-08-2007, 09:23
You might want to re-check...

Ok, I've re-checked. Pegasus Knights are flying cavalry. Flying cavalry are units of flyers. Units of flyers move as skirmishers. Skirmishers have no pivot limitation while charging.

Gorbad Ironclaw
07-08-2007, 09:42
Well, if you want to get technical you can't pivot at all during a charge...

Festus
07-08-2007, 09:46
Correct, if you want to get tecnical:
As of the rules, they have to move in a straight line on the shortest route.

Festus

Masque
07-08-2007, 09:47
Well, if you want to get technical you can't pivot at all during a charge...

If you want to get really, really technical skirmishers (and units of flyers) can't pivot at all (except when shooting), but I don't think anyone plays that way. They can however simply move in any direction or directions when they move including when they charge.

Colonel Raijan
07-08-2007, 09:56
They fly 20 inches...it explains it in the rulebook...and what was the point in making three seperate threads?

1) Finding out what to have in 1000pts
2) Asking about what to do with pegasus knights <covered in 1)>
3) Asking how pegasus knights move? <covered in 2) and 1)>

Seriously...:wtf: