PDA

View Full Version : Tilean Marksman

Bugtor
11-08-2007, 14:01
Hey Everybody,
I recently started playing in my first Mordheim campaign with a Pit Fighter list, and I hired the Tilean Marksman to make up for my warband's lack of ranged weapons. Unfortunately, my opponents are upset with the power of his skills in comparison to his cheap upkeep. Things were worsened as his first two advances were +1 WS and the Quick Shot skill. Now he fires his crossbow 2 times ignoring cover and long range. Ouch. I want to keep my list competitive while still being fun, what does everybody suggest I do? Hire him again? I love the model I am using for him and I still want SOME ranged so I won't be smashed every game! Has anybody else encountered this hired sword and found him to be unbalanced? Thanks for your consideration,
Bugtor

BigRob
12-08-2007, 08:58
Firstly, what warbands does your opponents use and how do you like playing? If you like an open table and they all play shadow warriors, Rieklanders and Witch hunters, then I say keep the Marksman! But if you are all Possessed and Middenhiemers with loads of Terrain I say Keep the Marksman!

Basically he is no more unbalanced than any other Hired Sword. The Assassin is Leathal and the Ogre is a great missile magnet, the Elf Ranger can shoot just as far and the Freelancer has a horse and lance! Yeah, he always hits on a 3+ and with Quickshot thats good but you also rolled +1WS, you could have easily got a marksman who after 4 advances had +!WS, +1S, +1I and +1LD, just like you could have +2BS, Quickshot, Eagle Eyes and Nimble.
Terrain will always be a factor and in a normal game the marksman can only dominate one small area.

My thoughts,
Have Fun
Rob

Denryuu7777
13-08-2007, 04:14
Hi, Bugtor!