PDA

View Full Version : Hatred and Griffon Standard



Shank
19-08-2007, 03:35
I want to put my Warrior Priest with my BSB with Griffon Banner in the same unit. Now, it states (because the warrior priest causes the unit to have hatred) that units effected by hatred must pursue. But with the Griffon Banner it states that you may never pursue. I think I need to roll off to see which is in effect but not sure. If anyones knows the page in the rulebook, could you let me know. Thanks

Malorian
19-08-2007, 06:34
Well you'll find the answer no where in the rule book. This is a classic always/never example.

Best thing to do is talk to your opponent about it, and most likely just roll it off each time.

Griefbringer
19-08-2007, 06:41
You could also try the following ruling from BRB page 120:

"In cases of contradiction, the special rule of a magic item takes precedence over normal game rules."

However, notice that nowhere in the rulebook it states which rules are normal and which are not.

knightime98
19-08-2007, 08:11
Says, "magic item".. The banner is not a magic item it is a magic banner....

Griefbringer
19-08-2007, 09:47
Magical banner is a type of magic item (like magic weapons, magic armour, talismans etc.), see BRB page 121.

ZomboCom
19-08-2007, 11:15
The banner definately overrides the general rule. You cannot persue.

Malorian
20-08-2007, 10:46
Now that you brought up that quote from the BRB it's pretty solid that you can't.

Good question though.

Shank
20-08-2007, 15:02
Thanks Guys!!