PDA

View Full Version : Bending the rules (OK, destroying them)

Carlos
21-08-2007, 09:22
I recently started playing Necromunda with my long time friend as we have no time for 40K and it is more focussed. Back in the day we used to play loads of outlandish games and bend the rules in all sorts of ways, for example my friend has a 20-girl escher gang with a 10,000+ rating simply because we used to endlessly play purges and use the crate counters from an old WD that were always full of rare trade items, thus our gangs got exceptionally powerful.

I had a spyrer gang but as they used to just play vs scum and vermin as opposed to actual gangs they never technically achieved their vow and thus I kept them for many games till they were all almost maxed out. Orrus with 2+ sv/3+ Unmod with 4x SF Dice Bolt launchers, WS 7 and Body slam anyone? This guy used to literally run up to gangs of chaos marines and genestealers and beat the crap out of them all! They even managed to capture a settlement and I had one lone Juve I used to feed all sorts of drugs and slimes to make him superhuman!

We started again but we used the same gangs but tried to stay focussed on proper play but again we have become to power addicted and started allying together to play other gangs and on friday its Purge time again!

Angelwing
21-08-2007, 16:48
I don't see it as a problem at all. I retire gangs when they reach 4000+ though.
I used to run purges with a buddy of mine. We used the playing card method, but used my tyranid army as the 'vermin'. 2nd ed tyranids were very tough!

ZomboCom
22-08-2007, 14:39
Generally, when gangs get too powerful it's best to come up with some scenarios for nerfing them. Zombie invasions are excellent, especially if you have a rule where anyone killed by a zombie dies permanently.

That's what we do in our group, any time a gang gets too hard it faces the zombies. The few members of the gang that survive will be awesome, but an awful lot will die.

Damien 1427