Assaulting Multiple Units
Is it possible to assault two units if they are far apart? For example, a Termagant Brood (A) wants to assault a Tactical Squad (B) and an Assault Bike (C), both of which are within 6” of the Brood and thus both are a valid target for an assault (see picture here).
The confusion about the ability to assault both units in this situation arises from the wording of the assault steps on page 34, which are;
• The most important one is that each model must end its assault move in coherency with another model in its own unit that has already moved.
• If possible, the model must move into base contact with any model within reach that is not already in base contact with an assaulting model.
The coherency rule in the first point is then reinforced again in the next section dealing with assaulting multiple units.
Therefore based on this it would be impossible to assault both units as pictured, because as soon as the second unit is assaulted the Termagant that moved would be out of coherency. Correct?
In the above situation assume the Assault Bike was next to the Tactical Squad and then both units were assaulted by the Termagant Brood, but after combat resolution there is only one Termagant remaining in base contact with the Tactical Squad. None of the Marines have been removed and the Termagant doesn’t Fall Back, so the Tactical Marines Pile In, surrounding the Termagant.
Now it is the Assault Bike’s turn to Pile In, but can’t because it can’t get into base contact with the Termagant. What happens to the Assault Bike? Is he still required to move 6” towards the Termagant, is he allowed to consolidate D6” or does he stand there until his next movement phase when he can move away because he is not engaged/locked in combat anymore?
Elsewhere in the same battle a Carnifex is completely surrounded by a Tactical Squad. The Tyranid player decides to assault with a Termagant Brood to help out. Can the Tactical Marines allocate their attacks to the Termagant Brood? The first bullet point on page 41 states;
• Models that were engaged with just one of the enemy units at the beginning of the combat…must attack that unit.
Does this indicate that the Marines have to spend another turn attacking the Carnifex, even though they would be more successful attacking the Termagants, and thus essentially giving the Termagants a free turn attacking the Tactical Squad without fear of retribution?
I’m looking for some help in ensuring I have the rules correct as it can be very confusing in the heat of a battle.