You have the oniwaban? A few more guys and you can have a force ready to go then all you will need is to convert locals to Infinity.
Blcknght's weapon range band chart from the Infinity forums has been reworked by me as a PSF to print at any scale:
Another weird question - how important is basing in infinity? If I use 30mm bases, will that make masses of different or what?
[Gomez and Jihad shoot some Zeds] [The Addams go to Malifaux]Originally Posted by mdiscala referring to my Lady JCurrently taking on commission work
Very little difference, since you measure from the center of the base.
"Perfect. It's everything a girl could hope for: Expensive, explosive and phallic."
-- Critical Maas
My Slaaneshi warriors, in PURPLE!
Armoured Might! The Temurian CXII project log
Sometimes I actually do stuff and occasionally even take pictures of the result.
It can make a difference, since I think the base size is used for moving through gaps and determining if you're in area terrain and smoke, etc.
On the other hand, unless you're playing in a really hardcore tournament, I don't see it being a problem. I'll be putting my O-Yoroi on a 60mm base, for example, and I've seen a couple of people using Dark Age-style 30mm bases.
The have the De Fersen preview up over at Beasts of War.
As the others said - basing isn't that important in Infinity. I find the way how you measure from the middle of the base very weird but if it's the rules I'll play them that way. I use the regular 28mm bases because a.) I don't use bought resin bases anyway and prefer to make my own and b.) this way I can't run into any trouble what so ever.
@IJW: Hmm, interesting addition. Thanks for sharing!
edit: By the way, I heard rumours about a new Infinity book mostly about scenarios and campaign play coming out this year. Is there any news on that?
Last edited by sigur; 14-04-2012 at 00:14.
All I've heard were rumors. The only thing that caught my interest was the possibility of a greek sectorial for Aleph. However, rumors are just that...
And speaking of bases, I am thinking about getting those MAS urban fight bases. I myself tried to make bases using left over bits from model tanks and planes...but everything I made looked too busy. One day I will get better at it!
Last edited by Hushrong; 14-04-2012 at 05:42.
It's not rumour - the mission/campaign book is next and has already been delayed by several months while Interruptor fine-tunes it.
The Greek Sectorial comes direct from Corvus Belli staff so I'm not sure that should be classed as rumour either.
Andrew - gaps are based on the model rather than the base and whether you're in an area depends on whether half the base is in. As far as I'm concerned, base sizes has almost no effect, but technically you have to use the original one in official tournaments - but that's up to the TO to enforce...
Ah right, thanks for clearing that up then. Thing I heard that it would be out in early 2012 so I'm looking forward to seeing that new book. Infinity is fun but without scenarios it can get stale and also feels a bit not like it's supposed to be played. Campaigns would be a nice addition too.
To remedy that for now though I plan to use your mission rules next time, IJW.
It was originally due early 2011 so it might be that the year got mixed up.
YAMS appears to have become the default set of mission rules for Infinity tournaments by now.
Sooo - I had another game of Infinity last night. Much fun, very close. First time I played 300pts, first time I brought a TAG along (the list was actually written with the specific goal to kill Achilles but anyhow) and a question popped up about the Szalamandra TAG. I'm sure I missed something but bear with me. So the Szalamandra entry has the Szalamandra pilot attached to it without any additional points costs so I suppose you get the pilot once the TAG is destroyed and the ejection system is activated. Thing is though: The Szalamandra doesn't have the ejection system listed with the equipment so how is the pilot to be interpreted?
Do we get the pilot stats and model simply in case the TAG is destroyed and the pilot hops out to not provide an order, not withhold the victory points of the TAG and to stand around and cover the rest of the army with pistol and knife?
Only the Iguana has an ejection system, because it has an 'operator' not a pilot.
Pilots can get out of unconscious TAGs with a short skill but the pilot never provides an order.
The pilots don't usually get much say in things around where I play (the ariadna players tend to overkill them with autocannons. That AP+Exp combo works when they get both hits or as it usually happens, 1 hit+1 crit (for 1 pt damage and 5 saves) and the yu-jing just tend to smack them with mono).
Nomad players just hack it immobile, mark it and then GM it until it is dead.
Sent from my Nokia Lumia800 using my microwave as a proxy server.
That is not dead which can eternal lie
And yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
I am the guy who thought the LoTR movies were crap and liked Judge Dredd.
Even without a scenario, if you don't have an Engineer to fix the TAG up from unconscious (or the Engineer will never reach the TAG) it can be worth spending the Order to have another pistol ARO.