Page 1 of 52 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast

Thread: Iron Lords Space Marines. 2nd Company.

Talking Iron Lords Space Marines. 2nd Company.

Hello there!
    i have been knocking about here for a couple of years and i always find these project logs such a constant source of inspiration as far as modelling and painting and converting goes, so i was hoping to give something back with my latest army, im working on the second company of the Iron Lords Space Marine Chapter, and whereas normally in the past i work from 'stock' armies due to the wealth of inspiring background, ( i have completed Salamanders, Blood Angels, Raven Guard, Ultramarines and Iron Hands to name but a few)

i decided to work on something with a spark on inspiration but little in the way of reference material to see what i could do.

The Iron Lords Colour scheme has always interested me, with their different coloured "Trouser" sections of armour, i thought there was something highly individual about them, as well as their helmet stripe company markings, which hark back to rogue trader days.

Here is everything i have painted so far, 2250 points all in.

As i painted the first combat squad of marines i started to think of what their background might be like, and by the sound of things, these guys and the Death Spectres seem to be the Desperadoes of the imperium, out on the fringe of the galaxy holding back bizarre and unknown threats that most of the imperium will never even hear about, the little snippet of information provided in the Codex has these guys down as exterminating an entire race 'the Barghesi' so that hive fleet kraken cant harvest their genetic material. which is badass on two levels,
    One. a thousand guys wiped out an entire alien race.
    and
    Two. its one big 'screw you' to the Tyranids.

This is my Company Captain, who i have dutifully named Syrax.