@andrewgpaul: the bit in either the weaponry , the shooting or the overwatch section under the title SHOOTING AT A DOOR. at the END (yes END) of that paragraph it clearly states:
"if a door closes and a space marine on overwatch sees it close he shoots at it."
read through your entire rulebook before trying to tell me im wrong next time.
Interestingly enough, there is no similar section in the rules for Assault cannon; I assume they can still shoot doors, since page 11 states "Space Marines are armed with storm bolters and powerful heavy weapons. They may fire these at Genestealer models and closed doors."
Last edited by AndrewGPaul; 03-09-2009 at 19:37.
It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye... and then it's just fun!
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Support the Mantic Deadzone Campaign
Sometime it's going to work, just you keep trying it
Yes you can leave a spare command point lying around just incase you jam; but that's down to the stealer player making you spend CPs when you don't want to.
Don't forget that you can't spend that command point until that marine sees a stealer perform an action in his LOS. Not a door, a stealer. So the stealer moves into your LOS, you spend a CP to unjam, the stealer is a square closer without being shot at already.
This is ambiguous at best. I certainly took upon my initial examination it to mean that the marine that you wanted to activate had to have line of sight. I smell a raivraw.Originally Posted by AndrewGPaul
A word to the wise is infuriating. - Hunter Thompson
IMO it's both. That's how it was done in 1st edition, so it seems fine to me to allow it here.
CPs represent instructions from the company captain, reviewing data from all Marines and other sensors in the area -if he sees 'stealer activity on one Marine's data feed, he can instruct another Marine accordingly.
Hey just a quick question that is probably answered in the rulebook, but we can't find it.
Can you fire a storm bolter past an ally or enemy? Say you'd rather shoot the genestealer behind the broodlord? Can you shoot if your LC termi is in front of your storm bolter dude?
Can the assault cannon shoot past a friend?
Heavy Flamer? (I doubt it)
Starting blips answer:
Yes, you can use your starting blips in the first turn, in addition to your turns reinforcements.
e.g. the mission states "Stealers start with 3 blips and receive 2 reinforcement blips per turn".
Game set up: Marine player sets up marines at Marine entry point.
Stealer places 3 blips at stealer entry areas.
Game starts with marine player's turn: marine player moves all his models until timer ends.
Stealer player's turn: he places two additional blips. He now has a total of 5 blips to covert/move onto the board this turn.
Next turn, stealer player gets two more blips for a total of 7, etc, etc.
Overwatch in stealer turn - possible for three reasons:
1) A stealer is in position to attack marines in either of two different directions, but there are only enough CPs to put one marine on overwatch
2)You ran out of time to put a marine on overwatch
3)You forgot to put a marine on overwatch
Rules Question regarding the free 90 degree turn for a stealer while moving:
Lets assume I have a stealer running down a corridor, and want to turn him around and run the other way as efficiently as possible. Lets say the hallway goes North-South, my Stealer is facing North. Is the following possible?
Somewhere along the way, I have to turn around, but I dont want to spend any APs for turning, so I simply announce a SIDEWAYS move first. I then use my free turn to turn 90 degrees, now facing the wall, then take my Sideways move. Next Action, I announce either a sideway move, moving then turning to face South, or I just announce a normal move, turning the moving.
The thing is, nowhere in the rules does it say that when you make a sideways move, at the time when you announce that action you actually have to be capable of doing it. The only way you CAN do it is because you get a free turn that you may use before.
Now with this said, whats the point of having a 180 degree turn for a stealer? Aside from being pinned between 2 Space Marines and for some reason wanting to turn around and attack the other, I dont see a situation where I cant get my 180 degree turn by abusing sideway moves.
EDIT: Remember, doing anything while being in Overwatch (via CPs) that isnt unjamming your weapon removes Overwatch. Is it the same for the melee version though, or can a Space Marine in combat readiness (not sure how its called in the english version) use CPs to shoot at incoming stealers before using his advantage in melee?
Also, after a round of melee, can I answer with a melee-range shooting via CPs to the attack?
@Khaunshar. Yeah I would say that you can do that even if it does sound a little silly
Has the C.A.T confused anyone else? We were playing rescue last night and the C.A.T rules says that when it isn't being held by a marine it is randomly controlled by one team. The thing is, it says it can't move into an occupied or flamed square but genestealers are allowed to move through it during their moves.
Seems kinda weird to me because a stealer player can effectively trap the C.A.T in a corridor or in the corner of a room. Is this how you guys play it?
you cant move sideways so no.
you can move diagonally though
Last edited by twistinthunder; 04-09-2009 at 07:12.
The stealers are aware that this thing is somehow important to the marines, and will therefore group around it to intercept them.
Not too big a disadvantage because there will always be stealers between the marines and the CAT, and at least the marines will know how long they will take to reach it. Otherwise sod's law says the CAT will start wandering off as soon as the marines are round the corner.
this is the paragraph from 1st ed book
you can spend CPs on a Marine only after a Stealer in
his LOS has performed an action.If the Stealer’s action takes it out of
your Marine’s LOS (it closes a door in the Marine’s face or steps
around a corner), you can’t spend CPs on that Marine.
this is the paragraph from 3rd ed
command points can only be spent in the genestealer turn if a space marine model has line of sight to a genestealer that has completed an action. Each action witnessed allows a space marine to perform one action.
they are worded differently but boath interpret to the same thing.
this is not just my oppinion i also contacted GW for clarification.
Quick question about the parry rule: you can make the 'stealer reroll their highest D6 when in combat, but what happens with the results? Does the stealer have to use the result of that rerolled dice, or can they switch to using one of the other two die if it's a bad rule?
@waaghsplat: i will use an example to explain:
genestealer player rolls 6,4,1 in close combat. the player controlling lorenzo scores a 3 which is made a 4 because hes a sergeant he makes the genestealer player re-roll the 6. upon re-rolling the 6 changes to a 3. combat is drawn because the highest scores are now 4 for each player.